We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel both going to and coming from Rapid City and the Black Hills. Because of road construction, reaching the hotel (even though conveniently located) is a bit of a problem, but the hotel is very clean, the rooms are very nice, and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast is the usual "free breakfast" fare, but it is well prepared. I only have two complaints: first, the pancake machine makes rather tough pancakes; and, second, I wish there were a microwave in the room to warm up water for my nasal rinse. I tried using the sink in the bathroom but the stopper leaked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at numerous Holiday Inn Express, I am a Gold Club Member, but I have never had the treatment by the front desk as I did here. When my husband and I were checking in the desk clerk acted like it was a huge bother to check us in. When I presented my Gold Club card expecting to receive a bottle of water or a little goody bag, like I always get when I check in, she said yes she knew I was a member and that was it. No water, no newspaper in the morning....nothing. I don't see any point in staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear rupelisa,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for leaving us a feedback. We sincerely apologize we were not able to honor your IHG Rewards Club perks and for the service you encountered which affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I've stayed at enough Holiday Inn Express Hotels to have certain expectations about the experience. Everything was as anticipated- clean rooms, standard breakfast (a few hot options, limited "winter fruit" and cereal items), convenient location and check-in. The pool has the added waterslide. This is a long tube slide, and my kids loved it. There is a height and swimming skill requirement, and the lifeguards allow only one person on the long stairway/slide at a time. Bottom line is that lines can form. The water in the main pool is very cold and us adults found ourselves taking turns in the whirlpool or huddling in the toddler pool area, which had very warm water. There were several restaurants within walking distance, including Cherry Berry and a barbecue grill. I am not convinced there is a better, more convenient option in the area, but there is nothing particularly memorable about the place either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I drive from Chicago to Livingston, Montana once a year and can get as far as Mitchell, SD. before calling it a night (about 11 hours of driving). So if you're a road warrior like me you cannot go wrong with the Mitchell Holiday Inn Express. The check-in service is prompt and friendly, The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable and the reasonable rate includes a breakfast buffet (pretty typical fare for this class of lodging). It's located right off a major exit on I-90 (exit 332). If you're westbound on 90, this is the best exit for rest and food. The options further down the road quickly diminish until you get to Rapid City, another four hours away. There are other major chain hotels (and restaurants) at this exit, but I got lucky with this hotel on my first trip and have now stayed here 6 or 7 times. I've not been disappointing yet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marioambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very clean with helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast offered a wide variety of food. We were within walking distance of several restaurants, Wall Mart, Cabelas, and other shopping. The pool offered a water slide which would delight kids. In the wading pool a water slide which looked like a lion was really cute and just the right size for toddlers. We will keep our eyes open for other Hoiiday Inn Expresses as we travel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdownhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed one night. (Relied on AAA Tour book for information about lodging in the area and settled on Holiday Inn Express. We got to town and noticed there is also an AmericInn which we are rewards program members - would've prefered to get the points at AmericInn. Oh well. Serves as reminder that the AAA is incomplete!)

Overall, fine accomodations. Breakfast is standard fare. (It's nice to be able to grab a yogurt or milk for the road.) I wish, however, that decent coffee would be served when hotels offer "free breakfast". I'm not talking espresso, fancy drinks, or chain coffee brands - but a simple but solid cup-of-joe - not the colored water that's so often served. The coffee here was ok - better than some. If a hotel chain could master consistently offering a good cup of coffee in the morning, I would be a return guest for sure - rewards program or not!

No complaints, lodging met our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarleneQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear DarleneQ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments regarding breakfast and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Crystal very friendly checked us in. Cheryl kept the breakfast area stocked and clean and greeted everyone with a big smile and good morning. Jan assisted me the next morning to book another HIE at Rapid City, SD.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155shortround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
1.8 mi away
Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell

Address: 810 E Spruce St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: £77 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Mitchell Municipal AirportCome and enjoy our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, SD. Our hotel is conveniently located just five miles from the famous Corn Palace and within walking distance of the world's foremost outfitter, Cabela's .Your family can enjoy staying at our hotel in Mitchell, South Dakota, located just off I-90 your gateway to Mt. Rushmore, Badlands and the Black Hills. The location offers you easy access to numerous local attractions including the Dakota Discovery Museum, and the Prehistoric Indian Village. Other nearby attractions include Lake Mitchell and the Model Car Museum. Golfing, shopping and dining are also minutes away.Business travelers can appreciate the comfortable accommodations at our hotel. This Mitchell hotel offers close proximity to many local companies such as Graphic Packaging International, Innovative Systems, Toshiba, Dakota Manufacturing and Dakota Weslyan University. In addition, our hotel provides meeting space for up to 50 people, as well as business services that include free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While you stay at our Mitchell, SD hotel, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool with a water slide and a large hot tub. You can start your day right with our complimentary hot breakfast bar and keep up your daily routine by using our on-site Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mitchell
Holiday Inn Express Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing