We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of Corny”
Review of Corn Palace

Corn Palace
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Mitchell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ornate auditorium has served as a meeting place and performing venue for more than 75 years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kind of Corny”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We got there late in the day but it was still open. The video on the corn palace is good. It is one of those things one has to see once and then cross it off the bucket list. It is now being remodeled but that was no problem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    584
    510
    143
    74
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Under Construction”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Corn Palace is going through renovations right now. I would say it is a must see if you are driving through the area. It sits a little ways off the interstate towards downtown Mitchell. They have lots of interesting corn souvenirs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One needs to be patient”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have seen quite some negative reviews about the corn palace. To a certain extent those who wrote these types of reviews are right. But one needs to be patient and understanding because the Corn Palace is in remodeling stages.

Now, to say that one should not stop and see the area, I believe it is not right. The Corn Palace is not the only thing to see in Mitchell. Just across the street you have "Valtiroty-Shiloh's Tabernacle," ranked by trip advisory as #1 in the town. They have a fantastic display of Bible land scenery, a replica of the Tabernacle, a jungle playground for the kids, and a gift shop with a variety of items, including religious T-shirts. There is also other couple of gift shops such as Rosa's staff, or something like this, and Uncle Zig (not sure if the name is correct) store. There is also a lake just a mile from this area, camp grounds, etc. So, I encourage the visitors to visit Mitchell.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dudy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family visit”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We went there thinking this would be at least a smidge interesting. However we got there and found out it was under construction which there were no signs saying that any where on the way there. The building wasn't all designed so we were rather disappointed. Thank goodness it was free

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I really wanted to see the corn palace, because is saw it on some tv show and l knew it would be a work in progress, but I was a little disappointed. Glad it is a short distance from highway. A good place to quickly stop and see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellyAT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Corn Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing