We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corny”
Review of Corn Palace

Corn Palace
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Mitchell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ornate auditorium has served as a meeting place and performing venue for more than 75 years.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
516 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Corny”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Corn murals, a palace, tourists on a cross country road trip...of course we stopped to see the world famous Corn Palace. Work was in progress when we went sadly. They had the murals finished on the outside. Had we not been tourists I doubt I would give it a second look but then again how often do you see such corny work.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    548
    487
    131
    70
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kind of Corny”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We got there late in the day but it was still open. The video on the corn palace is good. It is one of those things one has to see once and then cross it off the bucket list. It is now being remodeled but that was no problem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Under Construction”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Corn Palace is going through renovations right now. I would say it is a must see if you are driving through the area. It sits a little ways off the interstate towards downtown Mitchell. They have lots of interesting corn souvenirs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One needs to be patient”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have seen quite some negative reviews about the corn palace. To a certain extent those who wrote these types of reviews are right. But one needs to be patient and understanding because the Corn Palace is in remodeling stages.

Now, to say that one should not stop and see the area, I believe it is not right. The Corn Palace is not the only thing to see in Mitchell. Just across the street you have "Valtiroty-Shiloh's Tabernacle," ranked by trip advisory as #1 in the town. They have a fantastic display of Bible land scenery, a replica of the Tabernacle, a jungle playground for the kids, and a gift shop with a variety of items, including religious T-shirts. There is also other couple of gift shops such as Rosa's staff, or something like this, and Uncle Zig (not sure if the name is correct) store. There is also a lake just a mile from this area, camp grounds, etc. So, I encourage the visitors to visit Mitchell.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dudy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family visit”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We went there thinking this would be at least a smidge interesting. However we got there and found out it was under construction which there were no signs saying that any where on the way there. The building wasn't all designed so we were rather disappointed. Thank goodness it was free

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Corn Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing