We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Night's Rest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Night's Rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I remember my grandfather complaining about having to pay $20 just to sleep for a night at a motel. Prices have changed, but like my grandpa I don't like to pay $120 or more just for a place to sleep while passing through. The Thunderbird is older and pretty basic, but was clean, comfortable and modestly priced. Absolutely nothing to complain about. We didn't try the breakfast room so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your review! I'm pleased to see that our affordable rates and the value we provide were exactly what you were looking for. Hope to see you again on your next trip through our town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    161
    68
    18
    12
See reviews for
135
140
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This lodge was perfect for us. Very clean, comfortable, big fridge to put our groceries and treats in! Hot tub and dry sauna to help us relax. Very nice looking owner, who was very accommodating, and great breakfast included!!! Walking distance to 24-hour restaurant, also! Perfection!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kae Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I'm pleased to hear that we met your needs during your stay! Thank you for pointing out that at Thunderbird Lodge you truly do receive a great value without having to break the bank. Please stop by and see us again next time you're through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is by far the cleanest, cutest, well maintained motel I've ever stayed at! I'll be honest, I've stayed in some pretty sketchy motels in my days on last minute road trips and girls weekends. This one is by far, 100% the best. Both the rooms and the hot tub/sauna areas have been super clean every time I've stayed. The gentleman who owns it is probably one of the nicest people I've ever met. He really is there to make your stay the best it can be. He was working the front desk a few of the times I've stayed. He has a liqour license and a nice verity of liqour. I would highly recommend this cute little locally owned place to anyone passing by the area. Thanks for reading!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondewonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, and also for the kind words.

My priorities have been, and always will be, cleanliness and customer service and I'm pleased that your standards were met in both of those areas during your stay.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you at Thunderbird Lodge during your next trip to Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, South Dakota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

stayed for one night on november 22. room was clean, with amenities you would expect at a motel with a $50 rate, BUT....

room had a mini-fridge and microwave, small flat-screen tv, shower had LOTS of pressure. motel had hot tub & sauna, both of which were HOT [some hotels keep temperatures down so patrons don't overheat - this annoys me to no end!]

room was on second floor with exterior-only door. this made journey to hot tub/sauna chilly but NBD. there appear to be rooms with interior doors on 1st floor.

motel is near the interstate but room was quiet.

front desk worker for check-in and -out were both friendly.

only minus was breakfast: others commented it was spartan, with no hot items, but the donuts were gone early and were never replaced. same with the breads. went over to marlin's restaurant [across parking lot, in gas station] for hearty b'fast later in morning.

was very good for this time of year. lack of pool might make this less favourable in the summer - unlikely to need the sauna/hot tub in summer but was really nice now, to take chill off!

Room Tip: ask for room on first floor if you have trouble climbing steps, which are exterior, or want to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review! We like to think we offer the best value for lodging in Mitchell. As I've said before in these responses, my top priorities here at Thunderbird Lodge are customer service and cleanliness packaged together at a rate that travelers can afford.

That particular day, we had two groups of High School students staying for a debate tournament at our local high school. Our breakfast starts at 6am and they were up early to get their day started. We get donuts delivered fresh every day from a local bakery and we order them based on the number of guests we have staying each night. Unfortunately, I think the kids scooped up more than we excepted and didn't leave as many for the rest of our guests as we anticipated. So it wasn't that we didn't replenish them, we literally had no more to offer.

In the future, I will take this into account when ordering and make sure we have enough.

Thanks, again, for the review and we'd love to see you the next time you're traveling through Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stopped here on our way back from a road trip and it was definitely a neat little find. The lodge still has actual keys like some of the older motels do and I thought it added to the charm factor. The king size bed was awesome. It was of average comfort, at least I thought so. Breakfast was doughnuts, cereal, coffee, the usual. Great rate too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks so much for your review! I appreciate the kind words and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're through on a road trip. I think the only thing you missed out on for this trip was the Hot Tub and Sauna!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Were only at hotel one night but would definitely stay here again. As noted in earlier reviews, it is locally owned - owner greeted us and signed us in. Room was extremely clean and comfortable, water was really hot, shower pressure amazing, price exceptionally reasonable. Absolutely nothing negative to say. A delightful surprise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L&LChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am pleased that our level of service met all your needs. Please stop and say hello next time you're through Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed on a trip to Mitchell. We didn't have a reservation. Wanted to stay at a place that wasn't a chain. Very friendly staff & clean. We got a room on the second floor that was recently remodeled. Very clean, comfortable bed, excellent shower & great value. Was near the highway but it was quiet. Also used a coupon from a local toursit book. We were happy with the accommodations especially after a long day of driving! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Pick-up a coupon book for an extra savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melsies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. As a locally owned and independent property we focus on cleanliness and customer service. I'm pleased you were able to experience the positives of both!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Mitchell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Mitchell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Property: Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Address: 1601 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing