We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little motel.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had planned to stay at the Super8 in Sioux Falls by the airport, but one look and we drove on to Mitchell, SD. Found this gem right off the interstate! Very reasonable, comfortable and clean rooms, very friendly staff, too. This was night 3 on our 22 state summer trip and this is one of the few places we felt was a good value for our money. We would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review! You've really nailed it here. Friendliness (Customer Service) and cleanliness are our calling cards! We're very happy you made the trip to Mitchell and would love to see you next time you're through our great state!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    171
    75
    20
    12
See reviews for
143
150
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morenci, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great price! The room was simple and comfortable for the one night we stayed! The owner was friendly and very helpful. There is a restaurant within walking distance,and other that are a short drive. Close to the corn palace.

Room Tip: Easy on and off 90
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
You nailed it, Sue!

Thank you very much for leaving your kind review and we look forward to seeing you next time you're through Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great room, comfy bed. Close to highway with a restaurant right next to it. Affordable pricing for the value of service. Friendly workers at the motel. Planning to stay on my next trip. Also close to attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

I will let our desk staff know that you appreciated the service during your stay and we would love to see you again on your next stop through Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

For a very reasonable price this motel does what it should. It's conveniently located from the freeway, it's very clean and the staff were friendly. Don't expect luxury of course but this was a good option during a long road trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank something_similar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

One of our tag lines here at Thunderbird Lodge is "Where great price meets great value." and we're thrilled you stayed with us to experience that on your trip through Mitchell.

Thanks again for your business, and for the review. Have a great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Thunderbird Lodge offers a great value for a stay in Mitchell. We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk, who not only quickly checked us in, but was also helpful in directing us to local attractions. Our room featured a very comfortable bed with a clean bathroom. Breakfast was adequate but not deluxe due to a limited variety of items offered. We would stay here on our next visit to Mitchell.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamrocker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for the review!

I'm happy to hear that your check-in process was enjoyable. I'll pass on your review to our friendly desk clerks who always like to know their hard work is appreciated. Please keep us in mind on your next trip through South Dakota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I remember my grandfather complaining about having to pay $20 just to sleep for a night at a motel. Prices have changed, but like my grandpa I don't like to pay $120 or more just for a place to sleep while passing through. The Thunderbird is older and pretty basic, but was clean, comfortable and modestly priced. Absolutely nothing to complain about. We didn't try the breakfast room so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your review! I'm pleased to see that our affordable rates and the value we provide were exactly what you were looking for. Hope to see you again on your next trip through our town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This lodge was perfect for us. Very clean, comfortable, big fridge to put our groceries and treats in! Hot tub and dry sauna to help us relax. Very nice looking owner, who was very accommodating, and great breakfast included!!! Walking distance to 24-hour restaurant, also! Perfection!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kae Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I'm pleased to hear that we met your needs during your stay! Thank you for pointing out that at Thunderbird Lodge you truly do receive a great value without having to break the bank. Please stop by and see us again next time you're through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#15 of 18 in Mitchell
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Property: Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Address: 1601 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing