We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The pillows were too firm for my taste, just a personal choice. Nice flat screen TV. The water pressure was adequate. The breakfast room was too crowded at first to use - but it cleared out later. We didn't use the hot tub, but it was very small. The desk staff was very pleasant. Price was reasonable. WiFi had good speed. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! A detailed one at that! We try to provide a great value along with top-notch customer service and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend to others.

Thanks, again, for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    164
    69
    18
    12
See reviews for
137
141
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centreville MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lovely place. A little dated and it is a traditional motel in that some rooms are exterior access (doors to the parking lot) but ours was interior (off the inside hallway). The room was clean, beds were comfortable and staff was super nice. We were able to get two queen size beds, great for our son who didn't want to spend the night on yet another sofa bed. Conveniently located right off the highway. Breakfast was all cold. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleacorn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We do offer a variety of bed types in our guest rooms and I'm pleased you were able to find one suitable for your family. Value is something we strive for while still doing our best to supply our guests with the necessities for a comfortable stay.

Thanks, again, for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I would advise anyone that The thunderbird is an excellent choice! The rooms were clean the service is excellent. There is absolutely no reason to pay higher money to stay in one of the chain hotels in the area!
My thanks to Matt who is the owner.

Bill Hoisington

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmiltonfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks very much for the review, Bill! We strive to provide the best value in town and it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you and your group and I hope to see you all again the next time you're through Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed here one night while passing through town and I was kind of wary by the looks of it. (My first choice when traveling is usually a larger, newer chain type of hotel.) Plus it was during Sturgis so there were a lot of bikers and the place was fully booked so I expected it to be noisy. I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it's older and not fancy but we also didn't pay that price so we were reasonable with our expectations.

The young woman at the front desk was friendly, our room was clean and I was thankful to be in one of the interior rooms instead of most with a door that opened to the sidewalk. The beds were comfortable and all of us commented in the morning about how quiet it was all night. It's a decent option for the price if you just need a clean, safe place to crash and aren't terribly picky.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wifisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for the review and for ignoring your initial instinct of only staying at chains and giving us a shot! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Customer service is always our priority and it sounds like you were greeted by Kassondra! She does a great job!

Thanks, again, for staying and I hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stopped here, spent one night while traveling to the Sturgis Rally,
There were plenty of other motorcyclist there also,
Was greeted at the front desk by a young man, and when asked where a good
place to get a beer and a steak, he said there was a new place behind the motel.
The motel is showing it's age, and the rooms are a little dated..
But I found it clean and quiet.. the bed was comfortable,
The breakfast room is small and warm, the breakfast isn't anything to get excited about,
but it's an economy motel.
The wifi worked good..
These small mom & pop motor court motels are a dying breed and being replaced by
chains, so I try and stay at places like these..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troubled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

As long as there are travelers like you we will stick around! Undeniably, there are things beyond our control but rest assured we'll continue making the updates that keep us competitive with those other chains while still staying affordable for the everyday traveler.

Thanks, again, and we hope to see you on your next trip through Mitchell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were in the separated building that faces the highway/interstate. Room was loud, smelled of stale smoke and every time the AC kicked on, the smell got stronger. The room was large and looked fairly clean. Beds were not very comfortable. Continental breakfast was a few donuts, some bagels or cold cereal. It was handy that McDonald's was right next door. Handy location, good price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lilmamaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for leaving a review!

I'm sorry to hear you experienced a "smoky smell" during your stay. I am a non-smoker myself, and even the slightest hint of smoke can lead to an unpleasant experience. Based on your description of the area you stayed, there are a couple of smoking rooms that adjoin on one side to a set of non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately, when our smoking rooms are occupied by a guest that *really* loves their cigarettes that smell can travel through the ceiling tiles to other rooms.

Thankfully, only a small number of our Non-Smoking rooms (3 of 48 to be exact) share an adjoining wall with a smoking room.

Thanks, again, for the review and I'll get to work on finding a solution to this problem. I truly appreciate you staying at Thundebird Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had planned to stay at the Super8 in Sioux Falls by the airport, but one look and we drove on to Mitchell, SD. Found this gem right off the interstate! Very reasonable, comfortable and clean rooms, very friendly staff, too. This was night 3 on our 22 state summer trip and this is one of the few places we felt was a good value for our money. We would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review! You've really nailed it here. Friendliness (Customer Service) and cleanliness are our calling cards! We're very happy you made the trip to Mitchell and would love to see you next time you're through our great state!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Mitchell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Mitchell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Property: Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Address: 1601 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing