We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great surprise in this small town”

Star Family Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Murdo
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great surprise in this small town”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

While passing thru SD on a recent road trip we were trying to find a restaurant for breakfast and unfortunately on our route there were none not even McDonalds. We plugged restaurants in GPS and found this one and I must say we were pleasantly surprised as the coffee, food and service were excellent and if we are ever in the area again we will definitely stop here. This small restaurant is old and some of the seats were taped together but don't let this deter you it was a very good choice for a good hot meal that was reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorilla47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    39
    14
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good basic food”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The food was about what I'd expect at a small town independent restaurant. Nothing spectacular, but good, simple fare.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthfieldKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worland, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch at Murdo, SD! Been stopping there for a number of years?”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great place to stop and have lunch in South Dakota! We stop there when ever we go thru there, which is at least once a year! Great service and good food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dequincy, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family dining”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

While on the road you eat at so many different places that this was definitely a pleasant change. Really good food and excellent service. I had one of the best club sandwiches that I have ever had and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Excitabletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good home-cooked food in generous portions”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Based on other reviews (and a bad experience at the top-rated Murdo restaurant) we didn't expect much but Star Family Restaurant exceeded our expectations. Every dish we had was tasty and well-prepared. The portions were generous. The salad bar was basic but fresh and clean. Our server was friendly and attentive. (Our dishes did not all arrive at the same time, but that was our only complaint.) The atmosphere was peaceful and as closing time approached, it actually got busier. If we pass through again we will definitely stop back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsdau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Star Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing