We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Elk Cabin - Perfect Get-Away”
other travellers have booked this property
Our historic log cabin was built by the CCCs in 1930s and moved to our property in Vanocker Canyon.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our historic log cabin was built by the CCCs in 1930s and moved to our property in Vanocker Canyon.
Spacious Living Room has open beam ceiling as well as a Queen Sofa Bed and Electric Log Fireplace. Kitchen is supplied with all cookware as well as coffeemaker, toaster, microwave & full-size fridge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Our historic log cabin was built by the CCCs in 1930s and moved to our property in Vanocker Canyon.
Spacious Living Room has open beam ceiling as well as a Queen Sofa Bed and Electric Log Fireplace.
Kitchen is supplied with all cookware as well as coffeemaker, toaster, microwave & full-size fridge.
Comfortable seating for 4-5 people in kitchen or there is also an outside picnic table and gas grill
New pillow-top Queen Bed in Bedroom, Dresser and Closet
Shower over full-size Bathtub and Well-lit Mirror
Stairway to the left leads to Loft area with 2 twin beds--children love the loft!
Arctic Cat chose our property for filming in this area in 2010
Children have plenty of room to play outside at our log cabin.
Our Log Cabin sits on 5 Private Acres with no other structures around--and not within a development.
Large Paved Driveway with private entrance, metal gate and fully fenced
Nearby Dalton Lake is stocked with Rainbow Trout every Spring and is a peaceful spot to go fishing.
Our property is bordered on two sides by Forest Service land for plenty of privacy.
Wolfgang has built many hiking trails in the Black Hills--he's at the '76 Trail in Spearfish Canyon.
A small creek meanders through the east end of the 15 acres where we live in Vanocker Canyon.
Charming One-Half Story Loft (4' high) is perfect for children--adults enjoy it as well.
Little Elk Canyon near Dalton Lake is a wonderful spot for a short hike.
Two new fishing piers at Dalton Lake nearby.  Lake is stocked with trout every spring.
Scenic, fully paved Vanocker Canyon is one of the most beautiful drives in the Black Hills.
Living room now has new flat-screen TV with many family channels on the satellite.
Spectacular Vanocker Canyon
Right before the Fall colors after the days of summer.
Wild turkeys roam frequently thru our 15-acre property.
Another view of living room in the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nemo, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
P8459TUli...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little Elk Cabin - Perfect Get-Away”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Little Elk Cabin was the perfect get-away. It is nestled in the Black Hills and comes completely furnished, with a fully stocked kitchen and bath, and you only need to bring your groceries. The owners gave us good directions on how to find the cabin, and met us on arrival. It was clean and the cabin and yard were well maintained. The cabin sits next to a meadow where deer and wild turkeys were seen. No A&T cell service was available and no internet. I would definitely recommend this cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nita W
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect little cabin in the woods”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

So glad we picked this cabin. Kathleen and Wolfgang came over to meet us, then gave us total privacy for our whole stay. They truly thought of everything in this cabin. The property
This so beautiful, and it smells so amazing! clean air and fresh pine) the bed was very comfortable, the cabin came equipped with everything we needed. The location was right between everywhere we wanted to go both North and South. If we go back to the hills again some day we will want to rent this beautiful cabin again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property and the log cabin
Liked least: nothing, thought it was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NannerSwa...
Spencer, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you want an experience and not just a place to sleep.”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

What could be more charming than a pretty little full-scribe log cabin nestled in tall pines? I wouldn't be surprised if this cabin was built by the Schmidts themselves. You will read that Wolfgang has built an impressive number of trails and bridges all through the wilderness. He is a very talented man. There are sweet touches everywhere from the gently curving handrail to the skylight in the main area.

You will enjoy sitting out on the small porch and yard. There were hardly any annoying bugs when we were there. The cabin itself is cozy and well appointed with most every kitchen item you would need. We certainly were pleased that it was very clean and well maintained.

Wonderland cave is right down the road, there is a small lake for fishing and we were ecstatic to discover that the Branding Iron Restaurant in Nemo is excellent, especially for breakfast and lunch.

The only thing that we did not like was that the DVD player was not available and that Wi-fi is only available if you drive down next to their barn. I understand the constraints of the technology availability in the area but that should've been made more clear. We also used the fold out bed. It was typical, extremely uncomfortable.

Also the loft was a bit much for our 3 1/2 year old. The stairs are more ladder. She is very agile so I did let her up there but was constantly reminding her to be careful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We enjoyed the rustic beauty of a real log cabin.
Liked least: The motorcycles roaring through the canyon.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IA
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GAbdan
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway cabin in the woods”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My family was planning a reunion to be held at my brother's property near Sturgis this summer, so I began the search for non-resort lodging early this year. I am so happy I found Little Elk cabin! The owners, Kathleen and Wolfgang Schmidt have put lots of time and energy into this little charmer. The moment we walked through the door, we felt so "at home" and we had a wonderful week. The cabin is situated in a meadow a short distance off a paved road in Vanocker Canyon, and it is lovely drive up from Rapid City. At first, we were concerned about the motorcycles.........obviously Canyon Road is a favorite route, but it is very quiet and peaceful in the evenings. Booking the cabin was very simple, and Kathleen was very pleasant to work with. She was very patient with my many questions and answered my emails promptly. Kathleen and Wolfgang droppd by for a short visit our first evening; they live just over the hill; they were available if we would have needed anything, but were never intrusive. The cabin is rustic, but had all the modern amenties we needed and was very clean and well appointed. There is a washer and dryer, which we didn't need, but would be nice if traveling with children. The bed was comfortable, closet space was fine. We didn't do much cooking, but the kitchen was well stocked. There is a land line in the cabin for local and incoming phone calls, which is nice because we had absolutely no cell service with our ATT phones! We found that after a day or two, we could really get along just fine without checking emails and texts! The owners told us that if we walked or drove up closer to their barn, we might be able to pick up Wi-Fi, but we didn't find it necessary. The cabin is really well situated in the middle of the Black Hills, so it is easy to get to the attractions. My husband took in a couple rounds of golf in the area. Our favorite time though, was just sitting quietly on the porch every evening, sipping some wine and wishing we could stay longer. One thing I haven't seen mentioned on previous reviews is the loft. One of my brothers and his son stayed with us for a couple of nights, and they chose to sleep up there. It is accessed by a ladder-type stair and it has two twin mattresses on the floor. They both said they were very comfortable, and I could imagine that children would find it to be great fun. An adult can't really stand upright, but it doesn't feel confining, just cozy. My husband (who really does prefer resorts and all the amenities) and I (who doesn't) both really had such a fine time in the Black Hills, and Little Elk was perfect for us. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rustic appearance, the setting, the serenity, the cleanliness
Liked least: It would be nice to have another mirror in the bedroom as there is only one bathroom. I would have liked to have more than one handtowel for the bathroom, and maybe an extra pillow or two for the bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNEuroLov...
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming cabin nestled in the Black Hills”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Little Elk Cabin, and were so glad to have this cozy place to come home to after sightseeing during the day! It is rustic, but clean and modern, and easily accommodated our party of 5.

There were very few bugs, thanks to a large population of bats in the area; we never did see a mosquito! The beds were comfortable and the kitchen/table, while small, was large enough to dine and play games at.

It is 18 miles outside of Rapid City on a scenic, winding road which is better traveled during the day vs. at night. Wolfgang and Kathleen recommended in their booking material that guests arrive by 7:00 PM for that reason. However, no problem: They came and turned on the porch and interior lights for us so it was very inviting when we arrived.

They had also warned us not to trust GPS directions, but we ignored that warning, unfortunately, and ended up taking the long way as a result. This was our fault, not theirs! But - it would have been helpful to have directions from Sturgis in addition to the directions from Rapid City, since the GPS had erroneously taken us quite a ways north, and we realized later that we spent extra miles backtracking all the way to Rapid City.

Wolfgang and Kathleen live just down the road, and are delightful people. We would stay there again in a heartbeat, but next time will bring a few extra towels, as we each were provided just one bath towel and had one hand towel.

Regarding the "Good" rating given for cleanliness of the bathroom, I want to clarify that what mattered most (tub, sink and toilet) were all spotlessly clean, but the beams and shelves were just not dusted really well, and one member of our party mentioned it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience; it was a fantastic cabin in a lovely setting!
Liked least: Several of our group members were tall, and the clearance between the kitchen and the living room is probably only 5'9
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing