We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teresa is an excellant host!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakota Horizinn

Dakota Horizinn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dakota Horizinn
Ranked #1 of 1 Parkston B&B and Inns
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Teresa is an excellant host!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed from 10/16/12 through 1/2/13 due to working interim in the health field in the area. I couldn't have asked for better. Teresa(owners) showed up at my door one morning with a plate of Christmas cookies. She gave me directions to SiouxFalls on the backroads and saved me a ton of miles. I stayed in the newer building and my room was so big, it was like a studio apartment, with a King and queen bed. On the second day, they brought a refrigerator for my room. I was sad the day I needed to leave. Just as a plug for Teresa... she makes beautiful quilts with hand stitching on them, i commissioned her for two and plan on more.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaymoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roscoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We went to Parkston for a family reunion it is a small farming community. This hotel has a new part and an old section. We stayed in a newer room. It was clean, spacious and quiet. The housekeeping staff was on top of changing the towels and bedding - they even vacummed. I cannot complain about anything. The hotel is a place to lay your head, nothing fancy, just a clean & quiet little place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank syhud582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Some friends of mine and I stayed at the Dakota HorizInn motel, which has recently changed names from the Parkston Rainbow motel.

The motel seems to cater to pheasant hunters, as they have a bird cleaning station in a separated room out back, along with a large freezer to store your game in. The owners were very helpful in recommending local restaurants, and even pointed out a few areas where the hunting had been good. Teresa and James really go the extra step to make your stay a pleasant one.

I would definitely recommend the motel to anyone staying in the area, especially if you are there for hunting.

Room Tip: There are two parts to the motel. The older part adjoining the main office (where pets are allowed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KS_Cottonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dakota Horizinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Horizinn

Property: Dakota Horizinn
Address: 205 N. SD Hwy 37, Parkston, SD 57366
Region: United States > South Dakota > Parkston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parkston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakota Horizinn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Dakota Horizinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing