We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place...lovely hosts...memories for a lifetime”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philip
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Philip B&B and Inns
Michigan
1 review
“Beautiful place...lovely hosts...memories for a lifetime”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This was my first time at a B&B...a surprise New Year's Eve date from my boyfriend. And it was everything I could have hoped for...and more. The house is absolutely amazing! Not what one would expect in the middle of a cattle ranch in remote South Dakota. Mr Kenny took us on a tour of the house upon arrival and explained some of the rich history that makes the place that much more special. Miss Lyndy make us a romantic , candlelit dinner that night. She is such a wonderful cook...everything was to die for (especially the chocolate cake). The rooms are small, but cozy...and very period specific. I loved the attention to detail which brought to life some of the early 20th century. Each room has some of their family history behind it. We stayed in Grace's room (private bath) with the century-old furniture. I loved it! Be warned...Miss Lyndy's breakfasts will put the weight on you! She is an amazing cook, and I know if I stayed there too many more days you would've needed to roll me out of there! You will NOT start the day hungry! Each morning at breakfast we got to learn a little more about their family history. It was like visiting with old friends. So warm and hospitable. The house is only an hour or so from the Black Hills and Mt Rushmore, so we took a day trip out there. And they are just up the road from the Badlands...which we also took in. We were here in the middle of the winter and still felt warm and cozy...I can only imagine the beauty of the place the rest of the year! We will be back! Thanks so much Miss Lyndy and Mr Kenny!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corngirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Triangle Ranch is the best. Kenny & Lyndy have a beautiful home on a remote piece of land yet close enough to visit Minuteman, the Badlands, and Wall Drug. The breakfasts were outstanding as was the dinner that came with our package. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheNarrowRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

A few years ago, my wife and I visited Triangle Ranch B&B as a mid-point stay-over on our long trips from Kansas City to Livingston, Montana .... and we we've adopted it as our "home away from home" for all our commutes. The beautiful historic ranch house, situated in cattle country in South Dakota is warm & inviting, rustic but modern, and allows us to unwind and recharge for another day of driving. Breakfast is always delicious, and we now request dinners, so we can simply sit and relax from our long trip.

There is a choice of rooms, and our favorite is the Irish Lover's ... or the Cowboy Carriage House - when there are more than the two of us. Lindy Ireland is a wonderful cook and fantastic hostess; her husband, Kenny, is a fascinating & entertaining cowboy who's always ready with an interesting story about ranching, and life in South Dakota. Triangle Ranch is truly a 'home' that has a fascinating history, which you can learn first-hand, from the current generation of a homesteading family.

Reasonable rates become fantastic values, when you factor in the great (and filling) full breakfasts that are included. We pay a bit more to include dinner, and save the trip into town! We'd rather look at the stars, watch the clouds, breath in the fresh air, and listen to the QUIET!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERBKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Wonderful B & B! Owners Kenny & Lyndy are charming, warm and friendly. They obviously enjoy people!

Their home is spotlessly clean and loaded with history, which Lyndy is happy to share with you. We were welcomed with a friendly smile and the fresh aroma of bread baking in the oven. We felt like we were home.

A unique characteristic of this B & B is that you may have dinner with them for a small fee. This is a wonderful opportunity which we enjoyed immensely. Not only did we not have to drive in search of a restaurant but we were able to relax and chat with our congenial hosts while watching a beautiful sunset.

The dinner and breakfast were delicious and elegantly served in the formal dining room.

Our room was spotless and very comfortable with a perfect view of the moonlit night. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank LorenzoMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We have stayed in B&Bs for over 25 years, from England to the coast of Maine. This rates as one of our top two memorable stays! Directions: Exit the I-90 and drive 7 miles directly north on a gravel road, then turn right at themailbox and drive 2 miles more on their gravel "driveway." Suddently a big white stucco house appears in the middle of the praire! We stayed in the "best" room:" Irish Lovers, but all are immaculate and comfortable. The hosts are THE BEST. More than any other B&B owners we have encountered, Lindy and Kenny make you feel like their special and very welcome guests. The breakfast was excellent "down home" food. Kenny would be happy to show you around their working cattle ranch. Their house is a Sear's house built by Lindy's great-grandparents in 1920. There are no noises except those created by Mother Nature.

  • Liked — Uniqueness
  • Disliked — remoteness; but that was also part of its uniqueness
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2006

We stayed at the Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast during the last month of June & loved every minute of it!! Kenny & Lyndy have a beautiful home with wonderful scenery and wildlife surrounding it. One morning we woke up to see wild turkey, another morning we saw deer-whitetail & mule, pronghorn antelope & of course Tex & Woody. Besides the guestrooms in their house, they have remodeled the carriage house that sits next door. We stayed in the carriage house which was completely decorated in a delightful western theme. Our 7yr. old is a cowboy at heart & was on cloud 9 the whole time! He couldn't decide whether to sleep in the bunkbeds or the loft! The carriage house was spotless & we always came back to fresh water & plenty of clean towels. The kitchenette has everything you would need to prepare a meal (microwave in place of a stove). We stopped at a grocery store for the basics & enjoyed having our own little house. The breakfasts Kenny & Lyndy prepared were delicious & plentiful. Our host & hostess were helpful, informative, fun & enertaining. We felt at home & like one of the family. We definitely will stay here again. We have told others who are planning a S.D. vacation to stay here. Thanks Kenny & Lyndy!
From, The Cowboy Wannabees

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philip
22.9 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
14.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
16.7 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
11.5 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
60 reviews
23.0 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Address: 23950 Recluse Rd, Philip, SD 57567-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Philip
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing