We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After my hubby says, "where are you taking me?" referring to the long gravel road off the hiway, he loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philip
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Philip B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“After my hubby says, "where are you taking me?" referring to the long gravel road off the hiway, he loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

The story about the house was so interesting. We were glad to have had dinner with them so that we could enjoy Kenny's humor while partaking of Lyndy's wonderful home cooking. Being raised on a farm myself, it was like going home. A small nightstand or small table in Esther's room would have been nice. Otherwise, it was fantastic. You can't top Kenny & Lyndy as B&B hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

After following Ken's excellent directions down a service road and across several miles of gravel road, we could not have been more pleased to find this beautiful, welcoming b & b with its friendly hosts at the end of the drive.

When we arrived we were a little concerned about dinner arrangements since we had been travelling all day and this place is a little off the beaten path. No problem, said Lyndy, and in no time she had whipped up a dinner of home-bred steaks, salad, potatoes, and delicious chocolate cake which we shared at their dining room table as though we had known each other for years.

During dinner we were entertained by Ken's ranching and rodeo stories. The bedrooms were immaculate, furnished with family photos and heirlooms. Breakfast was delicious, and we were sorry to leave after only one night.

Triangle Ranch was one of the very best overnight stays we experienced during our recent five-week cross-country trip, and although it's a little hard to find, it's impossible to beat for a warm welcome and gracious accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

As born and raised "city folk", Triangle Ranch is probable the closest we would ever get to experiencing the lives of real ranchers. After leaving the highway on our way to the Badlands and the Black Hills and beginning our trip to the ranch(great directions) we knew we were about to experience something very different. Especially as we waited for the cattle to cross the country road, looking at them face to face. Triangle Ranch is the home of a real homestead family. Their beautiful home is even on the list of Historic homes. What a treat we had! Lyndy and Ken invite you into their home as old friends. The accomodations are simple charming and literally tell the story of their family history. Over delicious meals, both dinner and breakfast, we were enlighted by the life and stories of real ranchers. Everything about our experience here was wonderful. If you are looking for a sample of life on the prairie, these hosts, their hospitality and their home will provide it. We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

It make take a while to get there, but the destination is worth it. After a long day of seeing the sights, this was the perfect place to rest. Lyndy and Kenny are the perfect hosts. The accommodations were superb and the breakfast was out of this world. And it was quite tasty, too. Thanks Lyndy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jak201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

What a delightful stay we had with Lindy and Kenny our hosts. The ranch is far out on the prairie and the stars at night are breathtaking to behold. We had dinner with them and it was a fun evening. The breakfast was very good as well.

Be aware the beds are only doubles but my husband who is tall survived. :-) The inn was clean and the location is fun with cattle sitting on the road. The old Sears kit house is history to see.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingnonni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

First things first, this bed and breakfast is a little off the beaten path. To get here you need to exit the interstate, turn down a gravel road and drive for more than a mile or two - well past where most would believe civilization ended. This place really might be a little remote for some.

If you're like me, though, a little remote isn't a problem. Especially since the Triangle Ranch provides some of the most unique lodging available in the Badlands area - an area sorely in need of some lodging with character. The main house of the bed and breakfast is a handsome Sears catalog structure dating from the early 1900's. Maybe a little cozy and creaky, but lovely and evocative nonetheless. My wife, my baby and I stayed in the detached former carriage house - also a cozy, evocative structure - a few steps from the main house. (I would strongly advise choosing this room if you have noise concerns - either don't want to hear them or don't want others to hear them.) The carriage house featured a small kitchenette with a microwave, bunk beds, a sleeper sofa and an additional lofted sleeping area. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the room, but it was decorated in a homey Western style and was sufficiently comfortable.

The surrounding land is open to your exploration. While I didn't take much advantage of this, there appears ample room to get a taste of South Dakota's grasslands and, it appears, a piece of bottom land. Kenny, one of the owners, will allegedly take you hunting for any of a number of animals if you so desire. (No animals were shot during our stay, but another guest claimed to have sighted some unusual birds.) We spent most of our days in the Badlands, so we didn't have a great deal of daylight at the Ranch. What time we did spend strolling at the Ranch was well repaid in vistas of rolling grasslands and gnarly cottonwoods.

Without question, though, the meals served up by Lyndy are the highlight of this bed and breakfast. Each meal we enjoyed was a fantastic rendition of Midwestern farmhouse cooking - plate licking delicious and beyond hearty. Even better (at least in our case) the meals were served family style. The lodge guests and the hosts gathered around the dinner table for the meal and (once again, at least in our case) very enjoyable conversation. Kenny obviously relishes his role as host and prime conversation instigator, so I wouldn't be surprised if the conversation at this table were just as sparkling even if no one but Kenny opened their mouth.

The Triangle Ranch really did become one of the highlights of our most recent trip to the Badlands/Black Hills area. It provided unique lodging in a beautiful setting with people who really concerned themselves with our comfort. And we got a sample of the small-herd ranching lifestyle as practiced in Western South Dakota while taking in the scenic beauty of the Badlands. None of which you can get in any of the dreary options in nearby Wall.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pine_marten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

This was my first time at a B&B...a surprise New Year's Eve date from my boyfriend. And it was everything I could have hoped for...and more. The house is absolutely amazing! Not what one would expect in the middle of a cattle ranch in remote South Dakota. Mr Kenny took us on a tour of the house upon arrival and explained some of the rich history that makes the place that much more special. Miss Lyndy make us a romantic , candlelit dinner that night. She is such a wonderful cook...everything was to die for (especially the chocolate cake). The rooms are small, but cozy...and very period specific. I loved the attention to detail which brought to life some of the early 20th century. Each room has some of their family history behind it. We stayed in Grace's room (private bath) with the century-old furniture. I loved it! Be warned...Miss Lyndy's breakfasts will put the weight on you! She is an amazing cook, and I know if I stayed there too many more days you would've needed to roll me out of there! You will NOT start the day hungry! Each morning at breakfast we got to learn a little more about their family history. It was like visiting with old friends. So warm and hospitable. The house is only an hour or so from the Black Hills and Mt Rushmore, so we took a day trip out there. And they are just up the road from the Badlands...which we also took in. We were here in the middle of the winter and still felt warm and cozy...I can only imagine the beauty of the place the rest of the year! We will be back! Thanks so much Miss Lyndy and Mr Kenny!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corngirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philip
22.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
14.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
16.7 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
11.5 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
22.9 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Triangle Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Address: 23950 Recluse Rd, Philip, SD 57567-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Philip
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing