We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”

Cultural Heritage Center
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Pierre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Not your typical museum structure, this one is built into the side of hill, and much of it is underground. A contemporary version of a traditional Native American dwelling, this beautiful building features Native American (mostly the Sioux tribes) and pioneer exhibits, with many rare artifacts tracing the history of South Dakota.
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Inexpensive entrance fee - $3 for seniors. Lots of interesting displays that move chronologically through the history of the Dakota territory and South Dakota. Interesting audio presentations. The architecture of the building is interesting as it is built into the hillside. The view out the upper floor windows of Capitol and the river was nice. Definitely worth the time.

Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate V, Museum Staff at Cultural Heritage Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your visit to the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center. We are glad you found the exhibits, videos, and audio interesting throughout the gallery. Glad to hear that you found our admission to be reasonable and enjoyed the view of our State Capitol from the Observation Gallery. Thank you for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor.com. We certainly hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

You get a pretty detailed look at South Dakota's history -- from Native American and immigrant viewpoints. It has a few video stations to break up the panel reading and artifact viewing. I had the whole place to myself at lunchtime on a Monday. It's $4 for adult- $3.50 with AAA membership.

Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate V, Museum Staff at Cultural Heritage Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for visiting the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our gallery format; with the mixture of videos, labels, and artifacts. Glad to hear that you found our admission to be reasonable and could enjoy the museum at your leisure. Thank you for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor.com. We certainly hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I've visited many history museums and this is one of the best. We were there about 1 1/2 hours and wished we could have stayed longer. Exhibits from early Indian history and culture through the pioneers and into modern times are sensitive to all peoples and points of view without political judgment. Great artistry went into their design, many use multimedia. Very professional. Educational and fun for children and adults. A must-see when visiting Pierre.

1  Thank Janet-M-1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate V, Museum Staff at Cultural Heritage Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for visiting the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center! We are so pleased that you consider our place one of the best history museums you have visited. We appreciate your inclusion of a museum overview in your review and for noting our cultural sensitivity. Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor.com. We certainly hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great experience for the family. People of all ages will have an enjoyable time and learn a lot! Full of history but with a modern feel.

Thank Callie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate V, Museum Staff at Cultural Heritage Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for visiting the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center! We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your feedback and insight on museum galleries. Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor.com. We certainly hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Everything about this facility is outstanding starting with the location and its incredible view. Ample free parking is provided adjacent to the building and a prairie area is being restored with native grasses, plant and flowers. A free 48 page guidebook is offered highlighting what is shown in each area and is most useful as there is a wealth of information available to see. Additional brochures at some exhibits give in depth information on that specific exhibit (and are meant for you to take home if you wish-the guideboook itself must be returned at the end of your visit). The Observation Gallery (elevator available) affords a fantastic view of the State Capitol Building and the Missosuri River Bluffs. South Dakota history is featured prominently (building built to celebrate South Dakota's Centennial) but exhibits on US history are also available and regardless of your interests you will find material to hold your interest. Although the exhibit area is huge, everything is wheelchair accessible and benches are provided for guests needing to rest.

Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate V, Museum Staff at Cultural Heritage Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thank you very much for visiting the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit from the moment you arrived. We appreciate your feedback and insight on our “self guided tour books,” rack cards, and exhibits. We thank you for taking the time to visit our Observation Gallery and are glad that you enjoyed the view. Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on tripadvisor.com. We certainly hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cultural Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Cultural Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing