We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We normally stay at higher end brands but staying with our grand children's 4H group this weekend was perfect. They were very accommodating and the service was excellent. The rooms were very clean, great beds, and breakfast was good! Highly recommend this for families. The pool and hot tub was a great activity for the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aokanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for noticing.
And sorry this took so long to repley we have been busy getting new carpet ordered to do all the first floor rooms we do some every year put its just time for a change. Plan to be done by June 1st.
Also got new bed skirts that we are putting on.

Again thanks and we should have a lot of things upgraded the next time your in town.

John Poncelet
owner/gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

The good: The personnel at the desk are OUTSTANDING - 5 stars. Bless them.

The bad: The facility. It is old, worn and the owner cuts costs everywhere he can. An old facility cannot compare to a newer facility but it could have room rates more in line with what it offers.

I believe the operating philosophy of this hotel is: Price your rooms at 75% of a newer facility for a hotel that is 50% as nice. If room rates were my number criteria this place would get my consideration. If you are willing to spend another $30 a night there are newer and better hotels that give you much more value for your money. Do you want the most for your money or the lowest room rate?

Some rooms are 10' from the McDonald's Restaurant drive through. Expect some noise and food smell.

The "hot" morning breakfast is the typical waffle breakfast. Many things hadn't been refiiled when I ate so the selection of mini muffins was down to one flavor. Reading other reviews this isn't the first time this has occurred.

There are soap "suds" dispensers in the bathroom and the shower. NO BARS OF SOAP!!

There was a fan or something making a noise that kept me awake for hours.

If the room rates were $55 a night I would have a different review. At $90 a night there are better values. Pierre is an older city and there are many "high mileage" hotels. Choose yours wisely. There is NO WAY this is a four start hotel. TWO stars is fair and real.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from McDonalds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Yes we are a older hotel and we have spent a lot of money on improving things, over the past 3 years we have replaced all the room furniture and beds, purchased new blankets and bed spreads, new concrete in the parking lot,,, we have made so many imporvements.
Carpet still needs to be done.
Mcdonalds is an issue and we have been talking with them and they are planning a remodleing job for this year and looking to move there drive through to the other side..

we have eco-smart soap dispensers in most of the rooms to reduce waste and reduce our environmental foot print, this method is used by several large franchises we also have water saving devices on the showers and sinks. With the savings we plan to replace some carpets.

As far as breakfast gos we supply biscuits& gravy, muffins, bagels, waffles, cereal, toast, fruit and many other items.

we have many of the items a large franchise supplies and the breakfast is better then most.

I will pass on your comments to the staff and we will discuss your concerns and look for ways to improve things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed with Governor's Inn this past January while traveling on business. The hotel staff were fantastic - they were warm, friendly, and very helpful. The beds were the shining star! The staff had told us they recently updated many of the rooms, and I think we won the jackpot. the bed was so comfortable and soft that I went home and upgraded my bed at home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
You are right we have replaced all the room furniture and beds and guest have been very happy with the changes.
We hope to do more just as soon as we can.

I will share your comments with the staff

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

While traveling for business to Pierre my stay was made more enjoyable by the friendly staff and wonderful service I received while staying at Governor's Inn - Pierre.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for noticing all the work my staff puts into things. We do have all the amenities of the larger hotels and continue to make improvements.
I will share your comments with the staff.

Thanks

John Poncelet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a great stay. Clean rooms, great breakfast! Wonderful and helpful staff. We spent time in the conference room and loved the big screen on the wall. Easy access to and from the events we saw! Thanks!

Room Tip: McDonalds on the East side. Handy for on the go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We enjoy having you stay with us when your in town.
I will be sure and share your comments with the rest of the staff.

Thanks and see you the next time your in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

How can you charge $87 for this dump? The carpet is old, the rooms are straight from the 1980's, the phones are outdated, and the pool was too cold. To add insult to injury, they have a draconian 1100 checkout. One of my favorites still has to be the pump soap in the rooms to save money.

Could it be worse, oh yes. Breakfast. It was so horrible, it is hard to describe. They literally went and found the cheapest food they could possibly serve all the way down to pump syrup that was glorified sugar water. Even the plastic silverware was not functional. Go ahead, give a knife try.

If you want to end up in a timewarp and stay at a place that prides themselves and trying to have an outdated property, please stay here. I am still shocked the TV's did get updated at some point.

Room was clean.

Room Tip: Don't come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEsocalledfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Sorry your stay was not up to standards, we have spent a lot of time and effort to update things.
But i will say that over the last 3 years all the rooms have new furniture and beds. some have new carpets but there are more to do its a never ending process.

Not sure about breakfast as we get a lot of good comments everyday i am not sure what you were looking for. we carry biscuts&gravy, bagels, muffins, waffles, fruit, toast, yogurt and many other items not sure what else i could add.

11 am checkout is pretty standard.

With this many concerns I don't understand why you didnt talk to me.

John Poncelet
Governors Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I brought my UM-hopeful son to visit the campus and go to a UM basketball game. We had a great time and would stay here again. The free coffee and breakfast buffet in the morning was a nice and appreciated feature.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

thanks for the good comments and glad you enjoyed your stay

John Poncelet
Governors Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.2 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#4 of 10 in Pierre
188 reviews
0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
My Place Hotel - Fort Pierre, SD
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Pierre
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Pierre

Address: 700 W Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-1857
Region: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range: £51 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor's Inn - Pierre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's Inn is located in Pierre, the state capital of South Dakota.In 2016 We have refreshed all the rooms with new beds, bed spreads, new carpet in every room and painted every room and bathroom.We provide a Family friendly environment, and Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast featuring Belgium Waffles, Biscuits & Gravy, Muffins, Bagels, yogurt, other varieties of food items,Coffee, juice& milk. All Rooms have Wi-Fi & hard wired internet, mini-frig & microwaves,32 inch flat screen TV's, coffee,hair dryer, iron. Other amenities include an outdoor grill, Large Heated In-Door Pool w/accessible lift,Hot Tub, exercise room, guest laundry, & patio area. Meeting spaces available for family reunions, banquets,business and parties. we also have a larger parking lot for boats & trailers and medium size trucks. We are located on Hwys 34-83-14 close to several local restaurants & chain food places. We are one block from the Missouri river, Lewis & Clark Trail, 52 miles of walking & biking trails, boat access areas & Pierre's convention center. You will find some of the best Walleye Fishing, Canadian Geese & South Dakota Pheasant Hunting in the world right here! Attractions: State Capital, Fighting Stallions, War Memorial,SD Discovery Center,Cultural Heritage Center, Casey Tibbs Rodeo Center,Buffalo Interpretive Center,Farm Island Recreational Park,national Guard museum,& 3rd largest earth rolled famous 'Oahe Dam'. 24 Hour Customer Service & A Great Hospitality Greeting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Governor's Inn - Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Pierre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing