We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming back next year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marshall, Minnesota
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Coming back next year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I'll keep it simple. I saved $65.00 a night vs another hotel I usually stay at in Pierre, and the accomodations were just as good. I'll be back the next time I am in town. The hotel is a little older but well kept and comfortable. Sure glad I made a last minute change to stay here and save some money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffswmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are glad you had a good experience at our locally owned and locally operated hotel. We strive to provide an exceptional value to our guests. We strive to continuously improve and improve the experience for our guests by keeping our prices low and offer all the features and amenities all the name brand hotels offer in town. We don't have to pay any one to use their names like branded hotels so we are able to pass the saving directly to you. Keep checking TripAdvisor as we offer great specials on here throughout the year.
Come back and stay with us soon and hopefully you can give us a Five Star Review.

Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    50
    33
    16
    1
See reviews for
48
35
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arrived late (11:30 pm), tired, and ready to sleep. We were greeted by a friendly clerk that got us registered quickly and effectively. This was important since we had just finished riding over 600 miles on our motorcycle, while having to deal with unexpected detours and out running very severe weather all day out in the middle of South Dakota. When we got to our room we were pleased to find a comfortable, clean setting, a good bed, and ample space to unwind. In general the motel was well kept and clean. The prices are very reasonable and breakfast meets the need. I highly recommend River Lodge to anyone traveling through Pierre, SD -- particularly motorcyclists (they even have a place to clean the bike), all at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We appreciate you taking time out of their busy scheduled to write a great review. My team works very hard to ensure we keep our standards high and consistent so guests get the excellent experience they expect from us time and time again. We pride our self’s in been a locally owned and operated independent hotel with better than most franchise standards. We have made many improvements in the last few months and have many more to come. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon on your next visit in town and hopefully give us 5 STARS.

Regards

Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times. When we got here the AC was on and the room was fresh, cool and clean. Every time I have stayed here I the rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff are so friendly, nice and helpful, This is my home away from home!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dawn

Thank you for making us your home away from home. Were glad you found your room cool and fresh. We appreciate your business and your loyalty to our locally owned and operated hotel. We offer home town hospitality with all the modern amenities.

Kind Regards

Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been traveling between Minnesota and Black Hills almost every month for the past year and the River Lodge has provided a very clean nice place to stay. Every time I check in I see new improvements being made. The staff is friendly, decent continental breakfast all at a affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennings H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Jennings H,

We appreciate your time and vaulted comments. Thanks for such a wonderful review. We are always making improvements to ensure we are a great value and a great place to stay for our guests. come back and see us soon.

Thank you

Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Not only is this motel close to everything that is fun in Pierre - it's also owned and operated by the nicest folks! Trisha and Rick and their staff just make you feel so welcomed and comfortable. Their motel is clean and well taken care of. There is pride in their facility. We didn't stay at the River Lodge the 1st time that we came to Pierre but we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we return. Trisha and Rick do it right and it was our pleasure to be their guests!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
HI
Thank you for your great review, We appreciate your business and your choice to stay local. We do take pride in our business as it is where many call there home away from home while in Pierre. We take great care to ensure we provide a great room and the right price. We are continuously improving our property and like the input of guest as this allows to stay fresh and vibrant for our guests. Hope to see you again Soon!!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Should this review see pricing as an excuse for short-comings? I’m sorry but know. I have to say a couple of things first. The River Lodge proudly displayed a Trip Advisor Owl plaque, “Winner 2013 City accommodation of the year recipient” (or some such paraphrase). Thus, I was first very disappointed in Trip Advisor and second with the City of Pierre to think the River Lodge could “win” (much less deserve such a reward). MAYBE it was an award for the “best of the worst!”  But on to the review…

This review deals with the “Annex”. This is a building perhaps 30 steps away from the motel. We had reserved a double-queen NON-SMOKING room. First off, the room was freezing cold when we arrived, (electric base-board heat set ALL THE WAY to the left (coldest). If you have guests arriving, shouldn’t the room be habitable?

Do you know something worse than fresh cigar or cigarette smoke? STALE, CARPET & DRAPE PERMIATED SMOKE STENCH! Understand…that just as one becomes accustomed to the smell of a farm yard, meat packing plant or waste disposal dump, a person can even acclimate to stale smoke. We considered the “no-smoking” sign on the door and just shook our heads. But; it’s “only” $59 a night! We wondered how long the building had been “non-smoking”. THEN we saw an ashtray (nice and clean) on the nightstand! (We asked our son if he knew what it was? Nope…had never actually seen one! [or remembered])…I quit smoking about 5 years ago. How bad was it? (When we got home and I unzipped my case…I could smell stale smoke! Now…here’s a tid-bit…we were fiddling with our key-card to get into the exterior door…and a fella vacuuming inside, pushed the door open for us…a stubbed out cigarette dangling from his lips! (I also noted the laundry room was in that building).

OK…other aspects of the accommodations. The décor is 100% ducks and fish. We tried to count the number of ducks in the wallpaper border…but had to give up! Count the fish on the hall carpet? Forget it! Hunters and fishermen and smokers of all ages, this is the place for you. If you IGNORE “non-smoking” as an option, then it’s a decent enough value. Heck, they even have a fish gutting station and grill out front!

As for the breakfast…hey, it’s what you might expect—make your own waffles, some biscuits and sausage gravy, (which I WILL say was better tasting than most)…a toaster; I guess the rolls were fresh but I’m not a sugar eater in the morning anymore. I can’t review the main building, (I was a bit concerned that the reservation had been made some time in advance…and the place seemed NOT BUSY AT ALL so why did we get stuck in the “Annex?”

I concur with a lot of reviewers regarding water pressure, size of the rooms, nearby eating options, etc...and the price is low, but, bottom line…I'd spend a few bucks more across the street at newest motel in Pierre…or the Days Inn just a block away, (unless you are a smoker, already immune to smell). PERHAPS the main building trumps the "Annex"...if you DO book there, ASK FOR THE MAIN BUILDING...(then report back here!) :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Robert
We understand you had a less than excellent stay with us and please accept our deepest apologizes. Our Annex decor is orientated to our fishermen and hunters as Pierre is a busy fishing and hunting destination. Most hotels in town will relate to this decor. If this by any means was undesirable for you, we would have been happy to move you to a different room. From the sounds of it you had many issues and I am surprised you did not approach me or my friendly 24 hour staff who would have gladly changed rooms for you or helped you in any way possible. We Do not by any means aim to disappoint our guests, we stride to ensure all our guests have an Excellent stay with us. Our Main Building is 100% NON Smoking while we do have a few smoking rooms in our Annex building. We adhere to strict Non Smoking and Smoking Policies in our rooms but at times the smell of smoke can carry to a nearby Non Smoking room and we do apologize. We are Glad you enjoyed our biscuits and Gravy and other breakfast items and found our rooms spacious. Come back and try us again as we are sure we will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Room was big with good bathroom area. Clean, comfortable, good water pressure. no problems. Location is good, right on main drag and near the Missouri River bridge. Lots of restaurants nearby, some within walking distance. For the price, you'd have a hard time beating this place, and it includes a good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi

We are glad you had a good experience at our locally owned and locally operated hotel. We strive to provide an exceptional value to our guests. We strive to continuously improve and improve the experience for our guests by keeping our prices low and offer all the features and amenities all the name brand hotels offer in town. We don't have to pay any one to use their names like branded hotels so we are able to pass the saving directly to you. Keep checking TripAdvisor as we offer great specials on here throughout the year.
Come back and stay with us soon and hopefully you can give us a Five Star Review.

Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#5 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Governor's Inn - Pierre
#7 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Pierre/Fort Pierre - Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
Address: 713 W Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-1856 (Formerly River Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Baymont Inn & Suites of Pierre SD. We are a mid sized 47 room locally owned and operated hotel. The hotel is under new ownership and is becoming better than ever. We just recently upgraded our high speed wireless internet to be even faster and stronger than before and our business travelers love it. All our rooms apart from our economy rooms now have microwaves and fridges with many rooms having a spacious freezer compartment right in your room. We also have a large freezer if you need to use a bigger one too. We have just finished upgrading our lobby area with large flat screen TV, new lighting and an upgraded breakfast menu. For breakfast we now feature fresh baked cinnamon rolls, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh make-your-own malted waffles, four different types of cereal, different types of bagels, toast bar, donuts, English muffins, different flavored instant oatmeals, yogurt, fresh orange juice, fresh coffee, herbal teas. In the afternoon join us for a fresh baked cookie reception with fresh baked cookies daily with either ice cold lemonade during the hot summer days or hot coffee and tea during the colder days. No matter what the weather is we always have hot coffee in our lobby for our guests. We have started to upgrade our rooms with the latest and the greatest with many rooms now featuring high efficiency AC units, CFL bulbs in all our rooms to help save our environment, new BIG 42" HD LED TVs for your viewing pleasure and i-Phone docking station alarm clock radio so you can wake up to your favorite music in our new executive rooms. Stay tuned to our face book page to see all our latest improvements. All our rooms now feature our new upgraded bathroom amenities and bedding, Coffee makers, hair dryers, Iron and Ironing boards, Writing desk and lamp, and many rooms feature comfy relaxing arm chairs for you to relax in and read a book if you choose. We have plenty of Boat Parking with plug-in, truck and trailer parking and special Motorcycle parking and bike wash during Sturgis Rally week. Many of our rooms on our upper floor have a River view. We have 24-hour desk service, valet laundry service if you need and a business center with high speed internet with fax and copy service. Choose the Baymont Inn & Suites for your next stay in Pierre and experience true home town hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing