We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to wait”

The Hitchrail bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pringle
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Legendary bar and restaurant owned by award winning chef located in Pringle 15 miles South of Custer on Hwy 385. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner...this is a true South Dakota watering hole..it has been in business for over 60 years. Chef Dennis Boitnott has been a chef for over 25 yrs.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be prepared to wait”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We ate dinner here twice while in town. The food was good and reasonable. The service very slow. As you come in the dining room door there is a sign that says if your in a hurry come back later. This gives the staff a reason to go slow sometimes very slow. The other thing other than good food they have going is it's the only place in town, just be ready to wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyD1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PORT HURON
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food in Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Menu has wonderful items - Hamburgers are to die for. Owner very friendly - came out and talked to all at the restaurant. He was from Michigan - as are my Husband and myself - small world. Make it stop on your trip around Rushmore. You won't be disappointed. We bought some of his Hot Sauce too. Yummy....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHIGANGIRL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Was a quiet night and the restaurant was out of several things on the menu.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was dinner. Nothing fancy, nothing too thrilling, just dinner. There were a few items we tried to order, and it just so happened that they were out of those items. The only reason we even ended up here is because it wasn't quite tourist season and most eateries in Custer were closed. This was the next closet thing! It was ok. . .but nothing to rush back to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyJoPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food but over priced”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were headed back to Wyoming and had heard thing about a great steakhouse in Pringle. First of all its not a steakhouse. There is one steak on the menu, the flat iron. We love flat iron steaks so I was happy to see that cut, the only thing was it wasn't a flat iron. It was really good and cooked to order, but dont call it what its not. The sides we average, but over all it was good. The area that the Hitchrail could improve the most was service. We walked in to a nearly empty (you could hear a couple guys cussing and talking loudly in the bar) restaurant to no greeting and stood by the wait to be seated sign for a few minutes before finally seating ourselves. We sat for about 10 before anyone came out. Once the waitress came out of the kitchen, she seem annoyed that she was taken away from whatever she was doing. Overall I would say it wasnt worth the price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Food Oasis!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was traveling through South Dakota and looking for FOOD!
Very tasty Burger, I can say maybe the best one and a really decadent bacon. Service was good, can not be in a hurry... but the wait will be rewarded.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinnetteMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hitchrail bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hitchrail bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing