We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,quiet room and front desk tried their hardest...”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    23
    38
    29
    51
See reviews for
68
27
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Of all of the hotels we stayed in on this trip, this was certainly the worst. In fact it is probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

Some of the shortcomings:
1. The location - right across the street from Walmart may be a great convenience for some, for me . . not so much.

2. The parking lot is too small and difficult to exit onto a very busy street.

3. The faucet handles are apparently removable, at least one of the ones on our sink was.

4. Breakfast was pretty pathetic.

5. The alarm clocks were broken in both of the rooms we booked.

6. I'm not a fan of finding black curly hair on the shower wall. My hair is grey, so they weren't mine!

Just do yourself a favor and choose one of the many, much nicer motels close by.

Room Tip: Select one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueManMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGM, Operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We have made changes with our housekeeping and checking the rooms before they are rented so people do not run into the problems you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Of all the motels we have stayed in over the years, this had to be the smallest. We did not even have a chair in the room and barely had a place for our suitcases. We stayed 3 nights because we had made reservations and nothing else was available unless you wanted to pay about twice as much. There was hardly anything for breakfast, and we were very disappointed with it. The best thing about the motel was the convenience because it was right off the interstate and they did have a key entrance for the outside door so there was some security. We had to walk up one flight of steps, walk down a hallway, go up another six or seven steps and then another hallway. All this with carrying our bags up. We would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Look around more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Rosholt, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just an FYI if you book a hotel through a travel site and not directly with a hotel you will not get refunded if you have problems with you room!!!!!!!! we booked a room through this site and when we got to our room it was not clean, the bathroom fixtures did not work properly and the shower curtain was falling off the wall. When we checked out we shared our problems with the ladies at the front desk and they told us that they can not refund our money because we book through a travel site. I will never use at travel site again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 48 in Rapid City
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#23 of 48 in Rapid City
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#38 of 48 in Rapid City
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#35 of 48 in Rapid City
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Fair Value Inn
#12 of 25 in Rapid City
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1313 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6956 (Formerly Dakota Pines Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Pines Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing