We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I will start out by saying that both Tom and Jay who work the front desk are very friendly. And I was given a quiet corner room.
Now with that said:
I had a couple of problems with my stay here.
The first would be that I used a card to secure my reservation, but at check in and departure I was never asked to present the card or to present identification of any sort. Which in my mind tells me I could have used anyone's card to rent this room. Does not make me feel as though they cared about my financial security.
The second problem, was the mold in the bathroom and the hole in the wall of the main area.
Not the best place I have stayed at.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sande M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have come to Rapid City for 5 years, for stock show. We like to try different hotels to compare price/quality for ourselves. I should have followed the advise of other reviewers. Besides a comfortable bed and a powerful shower, there is nothing that says "come here next time", to us. There was mold in window and along bathtub. Room was vacuumed once in 4 days, but not very well. We found pizza under the end of the bed and we never had pizza. The entrance was full of muddy footprints and spilled food while clerk sat and watched tv at 10:30 pm. We had to ask to have HBO turned on. No hair dryer. We had a smoking rm and had no ashtray. When we told the clerk, he was very put out that he had to leave the tv to get 1, which he had to retrieve from another rm. We too had the excuse that the food delivery had not come for breakfast (no storm). The hot tubs are a joke. 1 was barely warm and the other was hot, but jets didn't work and no towels in pool area. Maybe employees that want to work and care what the hotel looks like, should be hired. In one of the other reviews, it was stated that things would be fixed if you were notified. Well, 4 wks later some of the same issues are still there. Lazy and uncaring employees, improper management being at the top of the list. For one nighters, who want a good bed and shower and don't care about the condition of the room, getting breakfast or relaxing in hot tubs, then this place is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and I can't even describe what a dump it is! We were greeted by filthy carpets in the hallway and the room wasn't much better. The lock was broken, and laying on the floor, also a lamp was broken off at the top. A sign that the maids didn't vacuum or clean the fixtures. We had a non-smoking room and it reeked of cigarettes...another sign the room/bedding hadn't been cleaned. The blanket had large holes in it and the pillowcases had long black hair on them. We thought all of that was bad until the fight broke out in the hallway and another one right outside our window...by the entrance door! Obviously, no one at the front desk or management heard it since nothing was done to stop either fight. We made it until 7:30 am and then grabbed our belongings and got the "H" out of there! We checked into the Hilton Garden Inn and WOW what a room/hotel! My next review will be for that hotel and it's going to be a five star!

Room Tip: There isn't a good room in this place!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVIDTRAVELER0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGM, operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wish you would have notified us immediately about the condition of your room so we could have done something about it. But not once did you let us know not even at check out. Yes there was a problem with a person who was drunk and staying at another hotel but was confused thinking this was the hotel she had booked. We did have to call the police and have her removed. The front desk staff handled the situation as best as they could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Flor A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 48 in Rapid City
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#41 of 48 in Rapid City
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 48 in Rapid City
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#18 of 48 in Rapid City
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1313 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6956 (Formerly Dakota Pines Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £47 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Pines Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing