We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel from Hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Swisher
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel from Hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This Travelodge was not even close to being described right in the description. The rooms were old and smelled of urine, the pool area was dirty and there was no continental breakfast. I usually book with Wyndham because of the quality but now I may not be doing that in the future. Very Disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    36
    28
    51
See reviews for
67
25
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My non smoking room smelt heavily of cigarettes...shower area had mould and on 2 occasions I had NO hot water for a shower. Had pre paid the room and when I told the receptionist upon checking out, she couldn't have cared less. Terrible follow up service and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

back in Aug. 2013 , I went on Hotels.com and searched for deals on hotels in Rapid City , SD . We found this property and really got a great deal on a weeks stay in June 2014 so we booked it , PAYED IN ADVANCE for it too . I called 3 weeks prier to our arrival to be told by the manager that our reservation had been cancelled in Jan. 2014 , WE DID NOT call and do this NOR did we receive a email stating anything of this cancellation OR a refund at the time for this matter. I called Hotels.com and they still showed us with a reservation there for a week and as payment in advance When I called back to tell the manager this and asked if there was anything he could do for me on this , he told me flat out NO, I can't help you. My husband came home and I informed him on the matter , he called the hotel and talked with the manager I did and all of a sudden he was all helpful and rebooked our room . Let's just say , I didn't sleep to well knowing what had taken place with our existing reservation , so I did some searching that night and found a BETTER hotel , cost us a tad more but the uneasy feeling I had from this manager was worth the money spent. We did get a FULL REFUND from Hotels.com . If Travelodge wants their name associated with the manager of this property , I will NOT even look at making reservations at another Travelodge or giving anyone a recommendation to stay in one. THIS WAS THE WORST moment a person can have when you plan a family trip a year in advance , your vacations all set with your job and you find out that in was cancelled on you and that there was no mention of reimbursement of your payment from the property .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mymeeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

First off, this is an older property, so the furnishings were somewhat dated.
The room was clean & a little Febreeze took the "stale" smell away. the beds were not extremely comfortable, but weren't horrid. All the staff from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance were very friendly. The only real problem I had was that there were 2 hot tubs in the pool area and neither one of them was working. I had looked forward to soaking while my grandson was swimming. I thought the room was a bit pricey @ 149/night. Other than that, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#38 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#43 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
2.7 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#26 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1313 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6956 (Formerly Dakota Pines Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Pines Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing