We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relief (in the form of a washer/dryer) in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
woodland hills, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relief (in the form of a washer/dryer) in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

i'm always thankful for holiday inns...i'm even more thankful for ones that have washers and dryers on site. this was our first hotel room of many while on our cross country road trip. after sleeping on an air mattress in a friend's living room the previous night, we would have been hard-pressed not to find something better. thankfully, the rushmore plaza holiday inn did not disappoint. the room we had was large - it had a room with a king size bed and a separate sitting room. it was very clean and we had a decent view of something other than an adjacent wall. my only complaint was that rapid city is not exactly close to mt. rushmore...however, after passing by some of the closer hotels, i was glad we stayed where we did.

the laundry facility was only one washer and one dryer, but they were brand new and very efficient. also, it was nice that it was open 24 hours.

overall, highly recommended. if you get a chance, have breakfast at black hills bagels on the way to the monument.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offtolookforamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    348
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
292
211
38
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn in Rapid City. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly and went out of the way to help our stay. They were very hospitable. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: There isn't a lot of scenery in the area. But, the open design makes the high floors attractive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieLouChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I truly enjoy staying at this hotel. I love coming to South Dakota as it is a wonderful state. The hotel is fantastic as hotels go but the service and energy of the staff make it special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertO724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

To start with the Hotel had lost our reservation. Secondly, we had booked a ground floor room and we were put on the 8th floor. Thirdly, the hotel was full of dogs. The USA Rodesian Ridgeback Club had taken over the hotel for a show and the dogs were everywhere. In the lobby, lifts, bar, rooms etc, howling and barking. It was clear the hotel caters for this type of event a lot as our room carpet was stained in 3 places from a previous animal and it had not been expertly cleaned. Lastly, they tried to charge us $16 too much for the booking. In the end we paid $158 for our room with no breakfast and it was in no way worth it. Would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This Holiday Inn has an easy location to get to and on the way to the Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore. The atrium was very pretty, the rooms a nice size and the beds comfortable. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I got our rooms on Priceline, naming my own price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Located downtown, so a 20+ minute drive to Rushmore/Keystone. Plenty of free parking. By a park and convention center. Downtown restaurants close (but likely easier to make a quick drive given layout). Small bathroom but not an issue of concern. Hotel bar and "restaurant" in lobby. Rooms are decent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyRoadTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs,Ar
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Obviously has been an Embassy Suites in its past life. Needed updating. Particularly did not like having a handicapped room. Water all over the bathroom. In fact, checked out a night earlier than we had planned. Quite noisy from a wedding party going on.

Room Tip: If you're not in need of a handicapped room, don't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing