We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay at the Holiday Inn, Rushmore Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay at the Holiday Inn, Rushmore Plaza”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza in Rapid City, South Dakota. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. We stayed in a suite, so we had an extra room with a television, coffee maker, refrigerator and sink.

One evening, we did hear some noise, but when I called the front desk, I was told that if the noise continued, they would look into it. The noise stopped on its own, however, I was impressed that the staff was willing to check into the source of the noise if it continued. The only additional features I would have liked in the room would be a safe and a make-up mirror.

Parking was free, which was a nice perk. The business center was small (2 computers) but it was available 24 hours which made it convenient to print our boarding passes.

Liked the ability to control the temperature in the room. In the mornings we needed some heat and later in the day, some air conditioning. Some hotels do not allow such flexibility. I would definitely recommend the hotel to folks planning a visit to Rapid City.

Room Tip: I would try to get a corner suite. They are spacious and have nice amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Sherry Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    354
    103
    31
    28
See reviews for
302
218
39
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

After an 11-hour drive to the Black Hills the Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza was just what we needed. VERY friendly and helpful staff, lovely room that was exceptionally quiet and super comfy beds. Debating dinner options we decided to stay at the hotel. After a visit to the lounge and sampling some so-so---but complimentary appetizers, we headed to the restaurant. We had friendly and fast service. The food not so great but certainly not unpalatable: rather tasteless trout and an interesting take on chicken parmigiana with homemade pasta which was more soupy than saucy. Not terrible though and we were happy the hotel had a place to eat.

All in all, a great hotel. This is definitely our go-to hotel in Rapid City.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1cutekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thanks so much for the review. We appreciate the feedback. Sherry Beck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodland hills, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

i'm always thankful for holiday inns...i'm even more thankful for ones that have washers and dryers on site. this was our first hotel room of many while on our cross country road trip. after sleeping on an air mattress in a friend's living room the previous night, we would have been hard-pressed not to find something better. thankfully, the rushmore plaza holiday inn did not disappoint. the room we had was large - it had a room with a king size bed and a separate sitting room. it was very clean and we had a decent view of something other than an adjacent wall. my only complaint was that rapid city is not exactly close to mt. rushmore...however, after passing by some of the closer hotels, i was glad we stayed where we did.

the laundry facility was only one washer and one dryer, but they were brand new and very efficient. also, it was nice that it was open 24 hours.

overall, highly recommended. if you get a chance, have breakfast at black hills bagels on the way to the monument.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offtolookforamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn in Rapid City. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly and went out of the way to help our stay. They were very hospitable. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: There isn't a lot of scenery in the area. But, the open design makes the high floors attractive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieLouChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I truly enjoy staying at this hotel. I love coming to South Dakota as it is a wonderful state. The hotel is fantastic as hotels go but the service and energy of the staff make it special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertO724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

To start with the Hotel had lost our reservation. Secondly, we had booked a ground floor room and we were put on the 8th floor. Thirdly, the hotel was full of dogs. The USA Rodesian Ridgeback Club had taken over the hotel for a show and the dogs were everywhere. In the lobby, lifts, bar, rooms etc, howling and barking. It was clear the hotel caters for this type of event a lot as our room carpet was stained in 3 places from a previous animal and it had not been expertly cleaned. Lastly, they tried to charge us $16 too much for the booking. In the end we paid $158 for our room with no breakfast and it was in no way worth it. Would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This Holiday Inn has an easy location to get to and on the way to the Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore. The atrium was very pretty, the rooms a nice size and the beds comfortable. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I got our rooms on Priceline, naming my own price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Gold Bison Grill. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing