We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check it out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
“Check it out!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Easy check in, friendly and helpful staff, open and attractive atrium, and newly updated rooms. While the rooms have been updated I understand the common areas will be next but not to worry it is still very nice and very clean. The pool was wonderful and the hotel overall is nice. We choose to stay here every time we travel for business because it is comfortable and because of it location to downtown shops and restaurants. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear KimN65,

Thank you for your review and your comments. We are excited about the newly renovated rooms and the next phase of the renovation. We have some big plans in the future.
Thank you for staying with us when you are in Rapid City,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    353
    102
    31
    28
See reviews for
299
215
39
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel with an open atrium style lobby. They have a restaurant and bar; both good but I thought the bar prices were a little high. The location of this hotel is nice if you are looking for food and bars. It is close to the downtown area where there are bars and shops. Howerver; it is a little quiet during the week. This hotel is also right next to the event center in Rapid CIty.

The rooms are nice, large and appear to be recently renovated. There is plenty of parking but it appears to share a parking lot the event center. I would stay here again if I needed to be in Rapid City.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor level room if you do not want to wait for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_from_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Martin_from_Colorado,

Thank you for your feedback and review. Our location is pretty awesome. We are walking distance from downtown or a 5 minute shuttle ride. Downtown has some really great shops and many eateries.

Come back soon and travel safe,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I was very pleased with the room. I felt the staff and personal were very nice. I was pleased with the room and common area. I did not use the pool or other facilities. I felt it was very clean and quiet and located in a great area. The stay was great.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, It seems the middle of the hotel is the best for reception and the rooms ar...
See more room tips
Green Features: I felt they were average I didn't see anything that is not in other hotels. pretty much standard
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Judith W,

Thank you for your review and taking the time out of your busy schedule. Our hotel is clean and comfortable. Our staff is what sets us apart. They genuinely care and will go out of their way for you.

Please come back to see us soon,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

While this property has some good points; the public areas look very nice and our room was large and comfortable, I found several things that kept us from having an experience that met our expectations.
The design of rooms facing an open atrium, while esthetically pleasing is very dated and not very conducive to a quiet environment in the atrium or in the rooms. This property had no sound abatement features in the atrium as I have seen used at other properties of this design. Even though the room we had (804) was large and comfortable, it was showing its age and we encountered little annoyances such as the door had to be slammed to get it to close properly (which I am sure our neighbors appreciated).
The real aggravation for me was that their complimentary WiFi did not have a very strong signal in our room nor did it have the bandwidth to support the number of people that were trying to use it. I heard a few other guests complaining about the WiFi also. To get around this I went to the Business Center to use the computers there and I was shocked to find that they were both running XP - an unsecure and unsupported operating system with outdated Internet Explorer browsers - this is inexcusable.
I also have an issue with their reservation and pricing policies. I booked early and used their 'Book early and Save' rate on the website. I booked 10 weeks in advance with full knowledge that my credit card would be charged and the reservation couldn't be changed, however, I had the expectation that this would 'save' me money. However, 2 weeks prior to our arrival date I was checking some info on their website and found that the rate for the same type room was $10 less. What did I save by giving them my money early? This probably isn't unique to this property so I would caution those who might think they could save anything by booking early at any IHG property. Also another reservation issue is that when you call the hotel and ask for reservations, it appears that they transfer you to the national call center and any specific requests regarding your stay may not get properly communicated back to the property.

While the location of the hotel is good and the staff is friendly I would advise looking elsewhere in Rapid City.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Goleta,

I apologize that we did fell short of your expectations. Thank you for letting us know about the door and Wi-Fi. I will have engineering and IT department correct the issues so the next guest won’t have the same experience. We are in the process of updating our business center with our 2nd phase of our renovation. We will have more current equipment and nicer business center. I reference to the “Book Early and Save”, you should save. If you will contact me I will make it right with you. Please call me at my office 605-399-7021. We do use a Central Reservation office. This technique allows the front desk staff to focus on the guest standing in front of them. I apologize that Central didn’t get your property request correct in the reservation.

I am sorry that you can refer us to Fellow Trip Advisor Readers, but I would ask the readers to look at our feedback from other guest. The reviews are very good except for an isolated issue from time to time. If we have an issue we want to make it right with you.

Thank you for your review,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great place to stay, very clean, quiet and located in an easy to get to area. Close to everything, downtown, dinning interesting places. Right across the street from the main downtown park.

Holiday Inn has the Convention Center, I didn't attend but it is convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, tallest building in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandmfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Sandmfly,

Thank you for your review. Our location is really great. We are close to the downtown and to all of the area attractions. You can just walk across the parking lot and you are at the park.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and please come back soon,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel's lobby and restaurant look very nice, however once I got into my room I was not as impressed. I expected a little more after seeing the lobby and hearing good reviews. I'm not sure it's worth the value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear travel362,

I apologize that we fell short on your expectations. Our rooms had completed a renovation in June. Our lobby and restaurant are very nice and we provide good service. I am sorry that you did not perceive your stay as a value.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, if you are back in Rapid City I am asking you to give us another try,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just stayed for one night on our way to Montana. Service at the front desk was great !! Room was excellent !! We stayed here the week before Sturgis so, very busy. Quick walk to downtown. Excellent downtown area with lots of great places to eat and drink. Next time I am in the area will stay here again !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Troy F,

Thank you for your review. We do have a great downtown! There are so much to do and it is a short walk. If the weather is bad or you don’t feel like walking our shuttle will take you downtown.

Come back soon and please let us be your host,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing