We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay at HI Express”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay at HI Express”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express. It was a newer hotel and was in excellent shape. Quick check in and check out, clean & modern rooms, clean & modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. The A/C worked very good -- compared to most motel rooms. The breakfast area was clean and offered a nice variety for breakfast. All personnel were very friendly and helpful. Only drawback was with the wifi -- had to have a separate password for each device and often it did not work -- so had to revert to normal cell service. But overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    66
    41
    19
    7
See reviews for
67
44
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We got the suite since we were 5. It was quiet although we were directly above from he main entrance. The kitchenette had a long counter which it was nice. The bathroom was clean but the curtain needs a wash since it had the musty smell typical of bathrooms when the curtains have not been washed a while.
The pool was COLD, so use the hot tub instead. The shower by the pool was cold, maybe because it was the end of the day or they were running out of hot water?. The pool is in the middle of construction, so it does not have the relaxing feeling of a pool, other than that it was clean. The breakfast was good, nothing fancy. No pancakes but they had plastic tasting cinnamon rolls or whatever the flavor of premade cinnamon rolls have.
They have a patio with a nice view to enjoy your coffee.

It has a pharmacy and a gas station just feet from the entrance, so is very convenient for getting back on the road.

Room Tip: Try to get the suite on the 3rd floor, maybe it has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Escapades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My reservation confirmation stated check-in was 2pm. Upon check-in, the clerk rudely and dismissively pointed to the sign on the wall stating that check-in is a 4pm. So, don't show up before 4pm because they really don't like that!!!
Hotel and spacious rooms are clean. However, my room wasn't vacuumed before I checked in. I even found a used tissue behind the nightstand.
Beds are comfortable and nights are quiet for sleeping.
I've stayed at this hotel in the past without any issues, but the staff now could use some training in friendly customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear TravelerCS,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel was clean, rooms were clean. The people in the front desk had zero personality. Good place for a pass through but if your visiting the black hills and a frequent Holiday Inn customer go to Holiday Inn / Hill City. Great service and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Surfra,

Thank you for your review. It is good to know you lie our clean hotel and rooms. However, I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations particularly with the atmosphere and staff service received. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort you encountered. We value all feedback, positive or negative, and I assure you we use your comments to improve our service. Thank you again and we hope to see you for another visit soon

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The location is great and close to the road leading to Mount Rushmore! The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. They accommodated our large family nicely and the kids loved the breakfast! The hotel was clean and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Booked weeks in advance. arrived 10 pm and room not ready. We requested an extra pull out bed for our son. Bed was not in room when we arrived. After polite requests the bed arrived without sheets. More time at front desk. Room was short on pillows. I should gave noted we had a large suite. The following day we got up early ti visit local attractions when we returned in the evening our room was not
cleaned and beds nit made. On our pillow was a boiler plate letter stating they can not make beds if a personal belongings are on the bed. yes my son left hus shorts on the far corner of the bed. So in a nut shell a simple item of clothing will prevent your room from being cleaned. I was later advised this is their policy. They should tell you their stupid policy when you check in. Obviously management and staff will look for any reason not to
provide minimum acceptable service. About me I have traveled world wide

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear 007jersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the housekeeping service. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

How many people you know plan a trip through Rapid City the week of Sturgis and not own a bike? This explains why this hotel was only one of 3 with availability. That stated, it was a wonderful experience. The customer service was outstanding! They put a bucket of towels so the bike riders could towel off their bikes. From the front desk to the breakfast staff, they were all happy to help.

The hotel is on the south side of town so made for a VERY easy ride to Rushmore. The room was spacious. The breakfast was eggs, bacon, pancakes... very hearty. They even had an automatic pancake making machine! Would stay here any time I am in Rapid City.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#26 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 750 Cathedral Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rapid City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Holiday Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing