We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Front Desk Staff”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Front Desk Staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived on Wednesday evening after booking our room just moments before (via Expedia.com). Evva was pleasant and very quick to get us checked in. When were forced to stay in a Smoking Room and I asked that we be moved (to non-smoking) should one come available. The next morning Evva was able to get us moved. Very friendly and hard working.
The hotel itself is fairly basic, clean and free breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrycorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    69
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
70
47
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I arrived in the beginning of the Pre-Sturgis Rally, The Front Desk Clerk was so nice and a very happy go lucky type, made me feel right at home. She took care of my reservations within minutes I was in my room relaxing. The staff are all first rate, the morning breakfast fantastic the only bad thing about this hotel is no hot tub, after a long joyful day of riding the Black Hills I had no hot tub. Rooms always look great, the hotel has a great patio area where we could sit back and talk about the trip that day and what to do the next day.
This hotel is very close to the Mt Rushmore area straight out Hwy 16 and you are there within 15 minutes.
Thank You for making this trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: If you are there for the start of the Sturgis Rally, and you want to sleep take a room facing the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khartum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stay at HIE whenever possible. My husband uses them when he travels. No fridge or microwave. We had to throw out our left over dinner. Staff was fine, room was good enough for the night. We have stayed in much better HIE.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isitmeUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear isitmeUtah,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Not a terrible stay, but no great shakes. Expected more from Holiday Inn with all their fancy media blitz marketing that suggests how great they are. I seriously think you can do better for the price. The location is nothing special, in fact it's quite a noisy property close the Route 16 with quite a bit of commercial/retail properties nearby. There is an Exxon station and convenience store literary right out in front of the property. Rooms and bathroom were clean. A little dated, but generally fine. However maid-service took all day (around 4 PM, after my request). Mediocre breakfast. I think most of the Comfort Inns do a better job with breakfast. Unfortunately we had a lousy room located next door to the laundry; didn't need any wake up call as that woke us around 6 AM. Nice fitness room with better than average equipment for a small motel. Pool looked OK, but didn't use it. Overall, I think you can do better for the price. Shop around; almost all hotels/motels nearby are easy access to Mt. Rushmore/Crazy Horse, Highway to Deadwood, etc. Nothing is difficult to get to around Rapid City; such a nice, friendly homey kind of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLC-SB-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear RLC-SB-NJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our fitness center. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room allocation, housekeeping and breakfast services. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed in the facilities. The pool was hazy, dead bugs lined the floor edge, dirty pool towels strewn everywhere , and dead leaves under the plants. When we tried to use the guest laundry facilities, the driers didn't work so we were stuck with two loads of wet laundry with no place to dry them !!! Had to find a laundromat to finish the job. Not happy. The beds were average as was the breakfast. The only reason for the two stars was that the staff was kind. Will not be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Cassandra L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I booked this hotel through my credit card rewards so I got a good price on the room, so I am not as upset about the experience as others. They were resurfacing the parking lot during our stay which made parking more of a hassle. The staff was nice. I forgot my razor, and it is listed on their items they have at the front desk, however they were out. The room was clean, we had a king suite and it was quite roomy and clean. The bed was quite hard though. So if you like a firm mattress this would be a great place for you! If you do happen to get a room with a whirlpool, be quite careful getting out, the only handrails are inside the tub and the tub and tile get quite slick! Breakfast wasn't anything spectacular but better than the basic continental breakfast. I am glad I got a discounted rate or I probably would have visited the front desk to try and get an adjusted rate. Due to liking a softer mattress we would probably look into a different hotel for our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajagonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were in Rapid City to visit the Black Hills. Being a Priority Club member we stay mostly at the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express hotels. This was clean but a bit noisy, the breakfast was different each day we were there. Bathroom could have been a bit more updated, but the bed and pillows were comfortable. Price about what we expected, but like most hotels in an area that has so much to see, it was a little higher. They chose this period in time to resurface the parking lot inconveniencing everyone staying there. Doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdona48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Kdona48,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#34 of 48 in Rapid City
348 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#22 of 48 in Rapid City
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 48 in Rapid City
33 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 750 Cathedral Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rapid City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Holiday Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing