We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, NIce staff, Warm Feeling”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, NIce staff, Warm Feeling”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived in Rapid City 9:30am local time (left Boston Logan at 6am) Stopped at hotel to just to let them know we were in town. Was told room would not be ready until 4pm the latest.
Spent day seeing sights, shopping arriving at 5 pm we were checked in to room 112. Room was amazingly clean and we felt very comfortable. Front Desk staff was ultra nice. Front desk area seemed to always have people sitting watching TV and talking which gave it a very family like feel. Breakfast was perfect for us, pancake machine can draw a crowd, but my daughter absolutely loved them (she usually demands waffles on vacation) Cinnamon rolls, biscuits bacon and staff is ALWAYS keeping this neat and stocked. Slept well after first night (people staying upstairs were walking like they had lead shoes on) Slept comfortably after first night and felt this place was good centrally located place for day trips. 24 hour store and gas station right next door can get a bit noisy and I would recommend that the air conditioner have a "constant On" feature ( ours did but did not work) to give off some "white noise" to eliminate the outside goings on. Laundry Room was next to our room and overnight staff must use dryer to prepare for morning linen and towel use as it woke me momentarily a few times.
WE WOULD ABSOLUTELY STAY HERE AGAIN! Breakfast ROOM was small but sitting outside was just a perfect way to start the day. We are from NH so the mid west morning sun was always a welcome friend. Staff was great and attentive. clean, and friendly feel. Did not use the pool which was disappointing but we simply ran out of time.

See you guys next time we are in town!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    69
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
69
46
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hay Springs, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel has a management problem! The staff was wonderful but terribly overworked. The rooms were clean but stained everywhere and the fixtures in the bathrooms were so ill fitted that the mildew problems were rampant. I stayed here while my husband was in the hospital and the staff was very good to me, even finding me another room when I had to stay longer than planned but it is hard to relax in a room that has torn curtains and mystery stains on the carpet and furniture. The hotel sits at a busy intersection and it is noisy! There's no accessible green-space. The medical rate they advertise is $1.00 less than their best rate on the internet and is higher in the summer than the winter. Don't get sick in Rapid City in the summer. I would have changed hotels after the first night but it is almost impossible to find a room in that area at that time of year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Lori H,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Ellijay, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

As HI Express hotels go, this one would be low on my scale. The staff is friendly, but the hotel is old and outdated. Not worth the rates charged in summer. The noise level from motorcycles is loud, really loud and it continues well into the night. Room AC's are old and loud, too. At least they work, but this is not what you pay the extra money for that HI Express charges.

Breakfast sitting area is way too small. So, guests are encouraged to go outside where there is plenty of room and sun. Food was sub par for an HI Express. The OJ tasted like cheap orange drink instead of the real thing for example. The cinnamon rolls were delicious though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brother-Bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Brother-Bobs,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived on Wednesday evening after booking our room just moments before (via Expedia.com). Evva was pleasant and very quick to get us checked in. When were forced to stay in a Smoking Room and I asked that we be moved (to non-smoking) should one come available. The next morning Evva was able to get us moved. Very friendly and hard working.
The hotel itself is fairly basic, clean and free breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrycorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I arrived in the beginning of the Pre-Sturgis Rally, The Front Desk Clerk was so nice and a very happy go lucky type, made me feel right at home. She took care of my reservations within minutes I was in my room relaxing. The staff are all first rate, the morning breakfast fantastic the only bad thing about this hotel is no hot tub, after a long joyful day of riding the Black Hills I had no hot tub. Rooms always look great, the hotel has a great patio area where we could sit back and talk about the trip that day and what to do the next day.
This hotel is very close to the Mt Rushmore area straight out Hwy 16 and you are there within 15 minutes.
Thank You for making this trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: If you are there for the start of the Sturgis Rally, and you want to sleep take a room facing the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khartum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stay at HIE whenever possible. My husband uses them when he travels. No fridge or microwave. We had to throw out our left over dinner. Staff was fine, room was good enough for the night. We have stayed in much better HIE.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isitmeUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear isitmeUtah,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Not a terrible stay, but no great shakes. Expected more from Holiday Inn with all their fancy media blitz marketing that suggests how great they are. I seriously think you can do better for the price. The location is nothing special, in fact it's quite a noisy property close the Route 16 with quite a bit of commercial/retail properties nearby. There is an Exxon station and convenience store literary right out in front of the property. Rooms and bathroom were clean. A little dated, but generally fine. However maid-service took all day (around 4 PM, after my request). Mediocre breakfast. I think most of the Comfort Inns do a better job with breakfast. Unfortunately we had a lousy room located next door to the laundry; didn't need any wake up call as that woke us around 6 AM. Nice fitness room with better than average equipment for a small motel. Pool looked OK, but didn't use it. Overall, I think you can do better for the price. Shop around; almost all hotels/motels nearby are easy access to Mt. Rushmore/Crazy Horse, Highway to Deadwood, etc. Nothing is difficult to get to around Rapid City; such a nice, friendly homey kind of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLC-SB-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear RLC-SB-NJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our fitness center. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room allocation, housekeeping and breakfast services. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#32 of 48 in Rapid City
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#26 of 48 in Rapid City
315 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#38 of 48 in Rapid City
548 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#36 of 48 in Rapid City
7 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 750 Cathedral Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rapid City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Holiday Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing