We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge Rapid City
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Torino
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent three days in this motel, really confortable for Black Hills, Rushmore but also Badlands National Park. Reception staff very kind and helpful. Wide room, clean and confortable, the only problem was about wifi connection: our room was in the upper building, too far from the lobby...

Room Tip: Not too far from the lobby because wifi quality becomes too poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaver71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate the feedback about our property and we will strive to continue our commitment to our customers to provide the best customer service possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    175
    132
    70
    44
See reviews for
202
160
43
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Az, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Even though the bathroom was tiny the location of the Best Western was an advantage. Their are gas stations across the street, a restaurant next door with good food, a one mile ride to downtown Rapid City and just a short ride to Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I appreciate the honesty and the feedback. We do our best to exceed our customers’ expectations and I glad that we could exceed yours. I will look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was able to check in way earlier than standard 3pm. Room was very nice but small. Missing microwave as stated online. Very excellent staff at hotel and restaurant but a little pricey at both especially for us seniors.Great location for nearby attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
The Staff at the Best Western Town ‘n Country, Rapid City strive to maintain the best guest service and experience we possibly can provide. The Team Members are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and strive to make every guest's experience an enjoyable stay. We are in the very beginning stages of planning a complete and total rebuild of our property in the near future. We look forward to your next stay with us in the beautiful black Hills of South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Room appeared to have been partially updated. However they skimmed on a few areas such as the air conditioner which had a very loud hum when it ran, the bathroom door needed to be replaced, and there was mildew build up in the corners of the bathtub.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We wanted to thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip advisor and for your feedback. It is our goal to exceed our customer’s expectation and we appreciate that you took the time out of your busy schedule to give us the feedback. We are in the early stages of planning to do a complete rebuild of our property to bring it up to date. We are happy that your children enjoyed the outdoor pool and perhaps gave you a little time to rejuvenate after long days of site seeing. If you are ever in the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota we welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I arrived without a reservation at 4:15 and asked for a pet friendly room was told I would need to wait 30 min for the room to be cleaned, waited 45. The hotel did give me a discount on the rate for my wait. The room was okay, furniture was mismatched, the bed was not very comfy, the shower head was not that great. The wi-fi signal was not that strong so it took a while for some stuff to load and there was no way I could have watched a movie. Although that could have been due to the horrible thunderstorms and tornado warnings and because of those I had to stay another night and the hotel was happy to accommodate me for another night. The breakfast was coffee in the lobby, a few apples in a basket and a tray with some assorted pastries while they lasted. They do give a $5 dollar off coupon for breakfast at the restaurant on site that is fabulous. Overall the place is good and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor we certainly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry you had to wait for your room, but very pleased that the Front Desk staff took care of you by giving you a discount. This particular situation of not having all of the rooms ready is not typical of our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Run as far as you can away from best western town & country inrapid city south dakota. room is too small, they overcharge on price. NO Breakfast,you have to go a block down the street. Stay at COMFORT iNN JUST ONE BLOCK AWAY

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 451jerryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. We do serve what we call the " Early Riser " which includes pastries, muffins, coffee or tea and fresh fruit, and juice for our guest that "Rise and Shine" earlier than most guest and before the restaurant adjacent to our property opens. We also have a bed and breakfast package that is available as an option while booking your reservation which includes your room and breakfast at the restaurant next door I am sincerely sorry that you were not aware of these options and I thank you for your feedback as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. We will certainly use your comments to identify areas where we can improve our hospitality so that others do not share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place has five buildings scattered about, with the swimming pool and ice machine sort of in the middle of all of them. Most of the rooms are "park at the door" which was the feature we wanted. The room was quite nice, with a microwave, refrigerator, a nice TV, and a balcony. Everything was very clean. The pool, which was quite a hike from our room, does not have steps for easy entry. The ice machine was in the same location as the pool. In the morning there was coffee and muffins. Guests do receive a $5 discount for breakfast at the restaurant close to the property, which we did not use. We chose this place because of its location, the swimming pool, and because of its good reviews, however we would not return. There are better choices in the area with a more convenient design so one does not have to walk so far outdoors for coffee, ice, or a swim.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for the kinds words. Our 50 year old property has stood the test of time; and newer hotels do have the conveniences of everything being closer. But we do hope you will come visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#30 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Property: Travelodge Rapid City
Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing