We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Rapid City
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MainStay Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$109
MainStaySuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard Johnson Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
102
202
160
92
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
202
160
92
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolroom was cleanblack hillsan older hotelwould stay againconvenient locationparking lotmt rushmorebiscuits and gravysouth dakotadeadwoodhighway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Well situated on the outskirts of town with easy access to I-90 for travelling west to Deadwood or Devils Tower. Mount Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Memorial are both within easy reach in the Black Hills of Dakota. The rooms are set in tiers on a hill and we had a spacious double with a balcony overlooking the restaurant. The staff were friendly and we had a credit voucher towards breakfast at the adjacent restaurant which was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Our staff and I would like to thank you again for staying with us. We will continue to work on exceeding our customer's expectations and are glad we met yours. Come see us again the next time you are in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

If you are use to 2 Star hotels then this is the perfect spot. Our room was clean, however ancient with no updates what so ever. The staff friendly and helpful. The room was stuffy even with the 1960's style air conditioner running constantly. Unit was extremely loud which made for a poor night sleep. Added to that the cool little balcony had an outside light that you can not switch off. The room was not light but also not completely dark. For 1 night it was doable and close to what we wanted to do.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. I thank you for your feedback as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was a little skeptical about this hotel at first sight because it struck me as looking rather barracks like, but I found it to be a comfortable, pleasant place to stay. The room was small, as I had expected, but comfortable. Even though the hotel seemed to be filled, our room was quiet.
I particularly enjoyed the balcony that had a partial view of the city through the trees.
The breakfast that was included with our room was a real treat. We were given an option of a continental breakfast at the hotel our use of a credit at the restaurant next door. We chose the restaurant and had an exceptionally nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words on your stay at the Best Western Town ‘n Country, Rapid City. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; our staff strives to satisfy every guest that comes through our doors. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.

Thank you,

Debb and Nick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here one night before flying home after a week long RV trip. Needed to return the Rental RV very early and needed a place to drop off our stuff. Staff were very helpful and allowed us to leave our bags, since the rooms weren't ready for check in that early in the morning. Had a king room with plenty of space and a small balcony. Didn't use the pool or any of the amenties as we were gone seeing the area most of the day and flew home the next morning. We did have breakfast at the Colonial House and it was good. The hotel is older, but the funishings are newer and the bed was comfortable. Great place for the price and the location compared to other hotels in the area. Very nice to have a mini-fridge too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vacationgirl_0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Town and Country- Rapid City. It is always a pleasure to serve our guests with the upmost customer service and satisfaction. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you come and see us. Thank you again.

Thank you,
Debb and Nick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The rooms were antiquated. Although there were plenty of insects to keep you company. The AC was lacking. For the money it was far overpriced. I would shop other hotels in Rapid City Just a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience of our hotel, I appreciate your honesty and feedback as this is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve our product and services. I am sorry that there were some issues that you experienced. We are a 50 plus year old hotel and do not have all of the amenities that most modern hotels have. However we are in the beginning stages of planning a complete and total remodel of this property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews