We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip advisor overview.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Rapid City
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Mandan, United States
1 review
“Trip advisor overview.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel offered friendly service, clean rooms. In the trip advisor description it said breakfast consisted of waffles, biscuits and gravy etc. and an evening bonus of soup and cookies. The hotel had neither. The mornings consisted of muffins, apples, oranges, juice and coffee. This was disappointing because the expectation was not met according to the description.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Celestine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the misleading overview. We haven't served the full breakfast or the soup for one year now, and our Trip advisor overview keeps getting reverted to the old description. Again thank you for the review and my apologies for the overview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    177
    132
    70
    44
See reviews for
203
161
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Only complaint was the smell, the carpet gave off some smell my husband couldn't get used to. Didn't bother me after awhile but it bothered him. The complimentary breakfast was lacking however sometimes I think we expect too much from a free breakfast. I was pleased with the laundry facilities, the size of the bathroom was also a plus! A balcony was also something ypu dont always get and I thought that was nice. Great location for touring the black hills and close to many fast food chains :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank erinjayne306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the balcony. I do apologize for the odd smell, we do shampoo our carpets once a month and during the summer it is difficult to get to all of them in an orderly fashion. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

was there 8/14/14 to 8/19/14; it was adequate; wi-fi was pretty non-existent in room; staff was very nice but I didn't ask for upgrade; I accepted the room as is, but it was no better than a Motel 6, but much more $$. convenient to tour places which I was doing; I got a $5 discount for breakfast at the restaurant on the premises; no fridge; no amenities; i didn't use the pool...too busy with site seeing; BF was juice if you asked; apples were available; but I ate breakfast at the restaurant after I learned about $5 discount--lobby has a computer; i turned A/C off at night and it was ok; bed was softer than I like; room # 140. TV didn't have HDMI; and I couldn't get captioning to work on HBO.

Room Tip: free wifi but as I said in review, doesn't really work
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mernaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we do take all feedback to heart to better improve ourselves. I am sorry about the internet problem, we have been having some problems with our service provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, SD, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I am a Diamond Member asking for an upgrade upon checking-in. The front desk guy tells me there's no upgrade for point redemption night, there's no better room in the whole hotel, and if I disagree I should go read the BW terms and conditions! Breakfast was horrible - no milk, no fruit, no cereal, only a smashed muffin left. The room reeks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jerry X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We do apologize for not being able to upgrade you, but during the summer it is very difficult to upgrade our Elite rewards members due to running at full occupancy. We serve a true continental breakfast and had some issues keeping up with it due to an emergency with one of our staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
300 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel as an Express on Priceline whiling on the road, then had a moment of panic as we started reading the reviews. What did we get ourselves into??? Having not been in the Rapid City area for about 10 years, we didn't realize we had to bring GOLD with us to pay for hotel rooms! Not to worry. The hotel is fine. Yes, it is more like a motel--there are five separate buildings, and some are only one floor (some two). They are built into a hill, so you may have to walk (or drive) up/down hill. The pool is nice. The front desk staff is very friendly. The rooms are older, but clean, and have everything that any other hotel room has. Ours (building E) had new wallpaper and tile in the bathroom, nice bedding, and was very quiet. Our air conditioner unit in the wall was not loud although it did run all night (it was hot). There was a mini-fridge, no microwave. Our only complaint would be the lack of breakfast--only Danish and coffee, and a few oatmeal packets--very lame. That is not even continental breakfast. No juice even for children. But there are restaurants in the area (McDonalds right across the road) so you can stay here and still be ahead of shelling out HUGE amounts of money on some of the other hotels we saw. Suit yourself.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words, we do appreciate the feedback. Our prices are very competitive during the summer, but we do try to make it affordable for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Quality is not worth the price. Don't let the pictures online fool you as it's not as quaint as you think. Location is good if you are traveling to the tourist sites but there are plenty of other hotels around. Very old and doesn't service breakfast as advertised. They have some muffins and coffee but get up early to have any. Told they didn't have WiFi when we got there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am sorry about the issues you had during your stay. I do apologize about the internet miscommunication, because we do have free WIFI available. Our 50 plus year old property does not have the conveniences that modern travelers have come to appreciate. We do have a restaurant on site and serve a true continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is older and the facilities are badly in need of updating. We were told that if does not need to comply with ADA laws because it is so old. I have never heard of that or run into that before. The pet area is nice - but very far away and up a rather steep hill from the pet rooms. The room is very old, the air conditioner is loud and the cooling is not comfortable. Breakfast consists of a limited choice of pastries. Given a $5 certificate to use at the adjacent restaurant - if you want to sit and be waiting upon - we ate at the McDonalds across the street. The wifi does work without problem. Staff was uninterested - close to rude. I recommend you find a different place - this is highly overpriced!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am sorry that your stay with us was not what it could have been. Our entire hotel is pet friendly and rooms are handed out to guests as they become available, at check in the only room available was the one in the building on the top of the hill, which is a short distance away from our pet area. Our property was built prior to the implementation of the Americans with Disability Act. And we were grandfathered into the act, but we do try our best to accommodate anyone with any disability to the best of our advantage.
Again I would just like to apologize again for the poor stay you had with us, and hope that it didn't ruin the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#35 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#26 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#33 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Property: Travelodge Rapid City
Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5340 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing