We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sturgis Rally”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Park Campground and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sturgis Rally”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Lake Park cottage was better than expected. Met all of our expectations I.e. centrally located, clean , affordable and surprisingly very quiet. The cabins were larger than we anticipated. We really love this campground and would definitely come back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Psyclefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    31
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Grove, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Quietest, most hot water, best vacation ever! We WILL be back! We love coming here, every year, and have never had a bad experience, even bringing friends to stay here. Next year we may be a party of 5as our daughter and her boyfriend want to come along.

Room Tip: Many choices of places to camp, shady, cool and fun! Lots to do right there without leaving the cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This camp site/cottage was very clean, quiet, and cozy. The people were very friendly and helpful. And you still got the feeling that you were camping because of all the large trees. Also the grocery store and town are only 10 minutes away. Canyon Lake is wonderful to walk around, fish, and you can rent paddle boats. Overall it was a great vacation spot, and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a tent at this campground. The tent spaces offered electricity and were in a nice grassy area by the restrooms. The restrooms were clean and well kept. We stayed 3 nights to visit the area. There was a family reunion or something going on during our stay in the cottages, and those people were a bit rowdy, but we were able to sleep and get our needs taken care of. I would definitely stay here again. This campground is in the city, but with it felt like we were out in the country. It had nice trees for shade.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a great place to stay aside from staying at a hotel. It was quiet and easy to get to and wi-fi signal is fantastic. The only complaint would be the lightening in thebathroom. When you shower you are basically showering in the dark. Other than that it was a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBDLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cizumel11, Owner at Lake Park Campground and Cottages, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi: Thank you for your kind words. Our bathrooms have been on our 'radar' for some time now. Last winter we were able to get over half of them remodeled and our plan is to finish the rest of them this coming winter. Thanks for staying with us. Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages and found it to be a great experience. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The area was well maintained, quiet, and relaxing. The cottage was clean and well-equipped. Perfect location for a home-base for visiting National Parks and other attractions in the area. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Lake Park Campground for a family reunion and the facility was terrific. Each cabin is decorated in themes and it was fun to see the other cabins in our group and how they were different. Our two bedroom cabin had a moose theme so the decorations and bedding were all moose-related. My in-laws had a one bedroom and they had a trapping theme complete with a real coyote pelt on the wall. So fun! Some members of our family rented the Deer Glen Lodge and the whole family spent hours on the spacious deck and inside the home. Each cabin is fully stocked with dishes and includes a fridge, microwave, stove and outdoor grill. The bedding was clean and new and they had plenty of good pillows on each bed. The campground hosts were really friendly and were happy to give directions and advice. The campground feels like you're in a remote little forest but you're only minutes from the Safeway and downtown Rapid, and a short distance from all the tourist attractions like Mount Rushmore and Keystone. My husband and I bought fishing licenses and caught fish out of the creek that runs right by the campground. All in all, you couldn't ask for a nicer place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie_Ramthun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
7.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
13.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
7.4 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Park Campground and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Park Campground and Cottages

Property: Lake Park Campground and Cottages
Address: 2850 Chapel Ln, Rapid City, SD 57702-4953
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing