We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
West Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
327 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Mixed, no curtains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights, room 608. Check-in with Caitlin went smooth, got our keys and a coupon list for local resturants/casinos. For parking, you pull up to check in and leave your 4-way lights on, check in, take you bags up to your room, then park at the ramp 2 block away, which the hotel gives you a pass for, so there's no charge.
The lobby gives a fantastic first impression with the woodwork, massive fireplace, chandelier, and high ceiling.
The room I was mixed on. The bed was very comfortable. People complain about the room being small. It's more of an issue with the furniture being too big for the room. The TV hutch/dresser is very imposing. If you took the top part off it wouldn't be too bad. The carpet had some stains on it, so did the chair, and the comforter. The bathroom wasn't too big, and could use some more shelves. The ceiling had a sizeable patch from water damamge, and the "cottage cheese" texture I found very unappealing. I almost wanated to go buy a scraper and fix it.
The big issue was the lack of curtains. The window had some blinds and side curtains that didn't block much light. This is a problem because the window faced 6th St and there are a lot of light the street lights, the Elk Theatre, and the South Dakota Cattle Owners Association sign. We had to adjust the side curtains to block the light. Plus the lights from the microwave, light switch, and clock had to be covered. The AC fan provided some background noise to cover what came from the street.
The coffee shop is comparable to Starbucks in price and quality. The Irish pub has 20+ beers on tap, most were $4 a pint, good price. The gift shop is mostly souvenier trinkits.
The location is perfect, in the middle if downtown. There's so many restaurants and shops within a 3 block radius you can find plenty of entertainment.
Then came the bill. The prices I was quoted were correct. But when I made reservations I was told that was the price WITH all applicable taxes. Not so. They add State tax, local tax, lodging tax, and a historical maintenance fee, all that added up to about an extra $20 per day. So when my total bill was more than $60 above what I was quoted I wasn't too happy. This was after I told the man I found it difficult to sleep because of the lack of curtains and he didn't seem overly concerned.
Overall, if a hotel can't provide it's main service for the clients, SLEEP, and doesn't correctly inform about the price, it's not doing a good job.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face 6th St
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    421
    212
    120
    73
See reviews for
316
536
91
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for three nights and the price was incredibly reasonable, about $50 a night or so), the parking is free and about 2 blocks away and there were freebies offered at checkin.
The hotel is old but full of character, the rooms arent huge and have a few creaks and groans, but overall are very comfortable and the location of the hotel cannot be faulted.
The roof bar offers good views of Rapid City and surrounds and having now seen the surrounding area I couldnt see another hotel which was in a better location or offered such history and character (ie. see if you can spot the swaztikas in the tiles on the foyer floor!)

Room Tip: ask for a high floor for panoramic view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollybairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the negative reviews, but we did not experience any of the cleanliness issues mentioned by other reviewers. Visited on a weekend so the street and lot parking near the hotel were free, so we also did not have any parking issues. Upon check-in received a card that provided a free appetizer in the bar, 2 for 1 drinks at Seattle's Best, and other benefits. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breconbeacons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

The historic value of this hotel is what attracted me to it, and it's a nice (not great) hotel. The main complaint I have is that there were patrons from the rooftop bar running all over the hotel making noise at night and even stumbling around the next morning. It's clean and has good service but is looking a little shabby. Prices were very reasonable! Restaurant right across the street and coffee shop next door.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice historic hotel with nice checkin/recpetion area. Corner room had lots of room in bed area but bathrooms are really small. Service is very good and meals for our small convention were all very good. Nice coffee shop with lots of room.They kept the rooms clean but some of the signage inside the room was tacky. Bed was comfortable and had a nice large flatscreen TV. Elevators were not great. Meeting rooms on second floor were pretty nice.

Room Tip: I would pick the higher floors as they have better views and less street noise. Think in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renaissanceman58102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Our last night of a 10 day road trip through the National Parks and Black Hills was spent in Rapid City at the Alex Johnson Hotel on 6th, right in the heart of a charming small downtown. It's an Historic building and the lobby is impressive, with high ceiling and mouldings that reflect the era of the early 20th century. The check in was smooth as we had booked online and had the paperwork with us. However, once we headed up the elevator the effects of age began to show. Scuffed up carpets, fading paint, and then, the room. A King sized room on the 'net looked a lot more impressive than the reality. The bed took up all the room, and the bathroom... not only NOT updated (since, maybe 1950?) but the sink was cracked and tilted and had 2 faucets so the hot and cold water could not come out together. 2 people could NOT fit in the bathroom at the same time. The shower had a good nozzle and pressure but was the molded fibreglass kind and was pretty small. Poor lighting and no shelf or hanging space for a makeup kit or supplies. Closet space? Not so much. This was NOT the least expensive room, so all in all, a REAL disappointment. The value just isn't there, so I urge travelers to do a bit more research when a Rapid City hotel is on their itinerary.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirksville, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Another professional traveler and myself spent Friday night through Sunday morning at this famous "haunted" hotel as part of our weekend trip to see Mount Rushmore. Beautiful old building, very tastefully decorated. Felt almost as if had been transported to 'The Overlook' of Stephen King's lore. It was expensive, $100+ a night, but the beds were SO comfortable... almost needed a stepstool to get into them. Agree with others, lots of big furniture with only small walk areas in the room. Our room was not on one of the "haunted" floors, and alas, no ghosts came to bid us good evening while there. We did not visit the hotel-exclusive bar on the tenth floor, but the friendly pub on the ground floor provided good food, drink, and live band entertainment. The bathroom was small, and the toilet sat extremely low to the ground. The soap, etc provided was inefficient for a double room -- those soaps only go so far. Downtown Rapid City was well-kept,with most of the graffiti was limited to the alleyways and roof-accessed walls. Presidents greeted us on every corner as we walked the 2 blocks to the open parking lot we had to use. Luckily it was the weekend, so we didn't have to worry about feeding those meters. All in all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethB551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing