We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny rooms, terrible service, but good location and great rooftop bar” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, terrible service, but good location and great rooftop bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

The room and bath (king room) were very small. Bed soft. No safe in room. The bathroom was amongst the worst I've encountered. We stayed for 2 nights and they didn't service our room even though we were gone from 8am through 5pm. And I was given someone else's bill upon checkout.

That said, the location is great and the roof bar was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrismmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    420
    212
    120
    73
See reviews for
316
534
91
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst visiting the local area. From the moment we checked in we felt that it was the right choice of hotel and so it proved. The location is right in the middle of town and the free parking was only a 2 minute walk away and absolutely not a problem as you are allowed 30 mins to park outside hotel whilst unloading and checking in.
The room was large enough and the bed very comfortable. On a couple of nights we were aware of the hooter from a freight train passing through Rapid, but I imagine this would be true of any hotel in town and was not a great problem.
The roof top bar / restaurant has great views of the town and surrounding area and the food was very good indeed. We ate there twice and did have an issue with the service on the second occasion. However the restaurant manager apologised profusely and made amends. If something goes wrong all you ask is that it gets put right and in this case they did.
All the team at the hotel from the manager to the housekeeping staff were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we visit Rapid City again this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Alex Johnson June 10, 2012 and we both loved it. Old hotel charm and elegance, convenient location, friendly staff, affordable. If you want to visit Mount Rushmore, Black Hills, Badlands, Devils Tower, Wall and other attractions in South Dakota but aren't interested in camping - I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandragant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Its a really great find, I travel a lot (this hotel is 1800 miles from home) and I usually only stay at newer 3.5 to 4 star chains so was not sure about a 1920s/historic hotel. The location was perfect so we booked. Traveled with my husband, son and mother-in-law. Upon entering the hotel I could tell I made a great choice, the Lobby is so unique and full of the history! The staff was very efficient and friendly. The rooms are not huge but they are big enough and as big if not bigger than those big chain rooms in NYC, Chicago and other big cities. They are very well appointed and extremely clean. The coloring and decor is nicely updated. The newly opened rooftop bar and outside patio is amazing and rivals the swanky big city ones I have been in. The beds and linens were top rate, which is a MUST for me to give a good rating!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Sounds nice but it really isn't! I stayed here with my son and wife on a business/pleasure trip. Upon checkin (family suite) I discovered the room was filthy! Bathroom was full of hair and toilet had the last guest's remnants unflushed! Food on floor in both rooms. Almonds stuck to the underside of the quilt.Really? I went to the front desk and was informed that housekeeping had gone home. I said that if it wasn't cleaned within the hour I would leave. We went to dinner and came back to see that the room had been cleaned. Parking is 2 blocks away. ot a problem if you don't have a heart condition, have an umbrella, and don't travel in the winter. You really want to have to stay here.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are small and antiquated. $8 daily "Historic" fee. Parking is 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pymalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rapid city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Answer..............you still have a pig! This hotel is over rated! Dont be fooled by its historical ambience, the entire facitlity is antiquated and not worth the money. I was in town for business and decided top stay as I was enticed by it historical appeal and amenities. I received a tiny room overlloking the rooftop air condition units and to boot my room was a handicaped room. I didnt need to the assisted bars for toilet use. Asked to be changed to another room and the hotel was not accommodating, the manager would not come out of her office to address (so much for customer service). I dont recommend this place........go to a Hitlon or Marriott property, less expense, customer oriented and better amenities. OINK!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Great location in the middle of town, lots of shops and restaurants close by, easy walking distance. Didn't like parking on the street to unload, just sort of weird, then the regular parking was a couple of blocks away - on the weekends you can park on the ground level but during week you must park on the top level, not great when you come back late at night or when the weather is in the 90s. The lobby was interesting and rustic looking, very pleasant. The roof-top bar had a nice view and was good, too, the free appetizer when you order a drink was very good and helped balance out the $11 price of the drink. Then you get to the room, so small you can't even open your suitcase, carpet was not just worn looking, it was just plain dirty. Lots of water stains on ceiling, air conditioner looked like it might fall from the ceiling and was very noisy all night long. The bathroom was tiny, no counter space, no shelves, no remodeling done in a very, very long time. We checked out the next day and moved somewhere not so "historic" but cleaner, larger and much more comfortable. Oh yes, if you decide to check out early, make sure you don't listen to the young lady who tells you that you will have to pay for an extra night since you didn't give 24 hours notice - she's not correct, the 24 hour notification is if you don't show up to begin with and don't let them know, then they will bill you for a night's stay, early check-out is allowed and not penalized, except during the motorcycle week in Sturgis.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing