We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MainStay Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
MainStaySuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard Johnson Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foothills Inn(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveller rating
761
513
245
135
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
513
245
135
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparking garageirish pubghost tourhistoric charmgreat historic hotelheart of downtowntally's silver spoontop floortwo blocksrooms are smallcorner rooman older hotelrestaurants and shopsblack hillsfire pitsouth dakota
Filter
Updating list...
1,197 - 1,202 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We traveled to Rapid City to visit Mount Rushmore and the other local parks and monuments. This was a perfect location. My husband and I love to stay in historical hotels when we have the opportunity and this one did not disappoint! Staff was welcoming and helpful. We use the valet for our car and the valet staff was always quick about getting our car for us. We stayed in a King room and it was just perfect. We had a refrigerator, microwave and ample drawer and closet space for unpacking. Our room was on the 6th floor and had a great view of the city. The bed and linens were comfortable. We highly recommend this hotel if you should find your way to the beautiful state of South Dakota and the equally lovely city of Rapid City

Room Tip: If you want a corner room or one on an upper floor call at the time of reservation to request.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and for writing about your experience. The Hotel Alex Johnson is ideally located to explore all the monuments and sights that the Black Hills have to offer. I hope you can make a return trip soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent location in downtown Rapid City but this old hotel is living in the past and in need of major overhaul. It was clean and pleasant and everything worked but one slow tiny lift, very dated rooms . There is a bar/restaurant on the roof which could be great but wasn't. Lacked any atmosphere and didn't seem to know what it wanted to be. It wasn't a good bar it wasn't a good restaurant and although there were loads of fire pits in the patio area it wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Polly6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing this review. I do want to apologize that we had one elevator down for routine maintenance for a few hours during your recent stay. The Hotel did go through a intensive remodel in 2010 but we understand the need to keep things fresh and updated and we are working on the designs for another multi-million dollar renovation in the upcoming off season. Thank you and I hope you can make a return trip in the future to see the outcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were a little wary about going downtown, we were looking for something closer to I-90. I'm so glad we found this hotel. It was great hotel in a surprisingly cool downtown area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Finally someone gets that in this day and age we need more than 1 outlet in a room. Don't be put off by the old feel of the lobby, it fits the cool, quirky feel of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank NeedSun93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for venturing off the Interstate and staying with us on your recent trip to Rapid City and the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us and I do hope you make a return trip. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Built in the late 1920s, this hotel has incredible decor, but modern amenities in the rooms. Staff still holds up traditional commitment to service. Great location to walk to the 4-6 blocks of downtown Rapid City. Amazing ambience and views from the rooftop bar. Free parking. Nice perks for Choice Hotel members as well (free coffee, drinks, discounts at shop and salon). Good value. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somsele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Historic Alex Johnson and for taking the time to write this review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is located in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area close to some amazing shopping and dining opportunities. As well as being centrally located to all the area attractions. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we have another opportunity to have you stay with in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Memorial Day Weekend and we were able to really explore the area. I would certainly stay here again.The hotel staff was exceptional-- friendly, courteous, and very helpful. The room was cozy, clean, and new. It was much more luxurious than I expected, especially for the price. The rooftop bar is outstanding with it's multiple fireplaces and beautiful views of the city. I highly recommend the Moscow Mule which is served in a copper cup. The hotel is in a perfect location-- close to great restaurants like Tally's, and a short drive to Mt. Rushmore, 1880 Train, Custer State Park, Deadwood, Strurgis, etc.

We upgraded to a suite for $10/night extra. The suite was still smaller than just an average hotel room, but for a hotel that's almost 100 years old, you can't complain. The room was clean and newly furnished, and perfect for us.

We also splurged for valet parking, which was another $10/night. That was also well worth it.

We would defiantly come back!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, if you have the option. Choose the valet parking option.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and for taking the time to write about your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took good care of you and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you and I do hope you can make a return trip in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews