We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional, in spite of hauntings and snow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is a real gem! The painted ceilings, woodwork, and artisan level craftsmanship are outstanding. It adjoins the largest Seattle's Best coffee shop in the world. The lobby is warm and welcoming, and the ambience exceptional. I was there for a week, and yes, had a bit of a haunted hotel experience (didn't know it was well known for this!). There was also quite a bit of snow and the city handled it well. Love the Art Alley, statues of presidents, Sonja Holy Eagle's drum shop and local restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay a few floors below the rooftop restaurant and club, ask them to put you somewhere besides where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmpressofHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for making the Hotel Alex Johnson your home away from home on your recent trip to the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us and I do hope you can make a return trip to see your haunting friends. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The front desk was helpful, especially Kate who was very courteous and knowledgeable. They give you some coupons to use at the hotel and around the area. The Vertex is a restaurant and a bar you can utilize while you are there. It has amazing views of the city. There is no parking on site-I believe it is a block away from the hotel. There are a lot of places in walking distance since you are in the heart of downtown. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: If you would like extra quiet, I would try to get a room on the 3rd Floor. There are only two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xlilacdiva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review and for the nice shout out for Kate. She does give great service to our guest as do the rest of the team. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and I hope you can make a return trip in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Using this hotel as our base to explore South Dakota, lovely hotel, used in the film North by Northwest. Long list of dignitaries have stayed here including 6 US Presidents; Alfred Hitchcock; Jack Dempsey. Interesting lobby, Indian headdresses, bison heads etc. welcoming staff. Room large, 2 Queen beds. All round decent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0bD0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson as your home base during your visit to the Black Hills. I appreciate you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Alex Johnson while on business. The hotel which boasts having had 5 different presidents stay there over the years is generally well kept up and has a lot of character. The staff were all very friendly both in the hotel and adjoining pub. The rooms are smaller than most places and the narrow bathtub shower combinations would be difficult to maneuver for some people. Being right in the middle of beautiful downtown Rapid City makes the location ideal for tourists and business people alike as it is close to many gift shops, dining places, and local drinking establishments. I great place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate your kind remarks and I hope you can make a return trip in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We traveled to Rapid City to visit Mount Rushmore and the other local parks and monuments. This was a perfect location. My husband and I love to stay in historical hotels when we have the opportunity and this one did not disappoint! Staff was welcoming and helpful. We use the valet for our car and the valet staff was always quick about getting our car for us. We stayed in a King room and it was just perfect. We had a refrigerator, microwave and ample drawer and closet space for unpacking. Our room was on the 6th floor and had a great view of the city. The bed and linens were comfortable. We highly recommend this hotel if you should find your way to the beautiful state of South Dakota and the equally lovely city of Rapid City

Room Tip: If you want a corner room or one on an upper floor call at the time of reservation to request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and for writing about your experience. The Hotel Alex Johnson is ideally located to explore all the monuments and sights that the Black Hills have to offer. I hope you can make a return trip soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent location in downtown Rapid City but this old hotel is living in the past and in need of major overhaul. It was clean and pleasant and everything worked but one slow tiny lift, very dated rooms . There is a bar/restaurant on the roof which could be great but wasn't. Lacked any atmosphere and didn't seem to know what it wanted to be. It wasn't a good bar it wasn't a good restaurant and although there were loads of fire pits in the patio area it wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Polly6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing this review. I do want to apologize that we had one elevator down for routine maintenance for a few hours during your recent stay. The Hotel did go through a intensive remodel in 2010 but we understand the need to keep things fresh and updated and we are working on the designs for another multi-million dollar renovation in the upcoming off season. Thank you and I hope you can make a return trip in the future to see the outcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were a little wary about going downtown, we were looking for something closer to I-90. I'm so glad we found this hotel. It was great hotel in a surprisingly cool downtown area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Finally someone gets that in this day and age we need more than 1 outlet in a room. Don't be put off by the old feel of the lobby, it fits the cool, quirky feel of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank NeedSun93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for venturing off the Interstate and staying with us on your recent trip to Rapid City and the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us and I do hope you make a return trip. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
891 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £48 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing