We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Classic, in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Old Classic, in Every Way”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is a classic, it was even mentioned in "North by Northwest" under its former name. You enter into a grand lobby that looks like a cross between a Swiss lodge, a Rockies retreat and a stately manor with lots of wood and shops around the edges. The location is perfect for walking around the older part of Rapid City, near restaurants and bars. Parking is free if you don't mind parking 2 blocks away and on the roof of the 4 story garage beyond the park. But if you like, you can park for free between 4 PM and 9 AM at the lot diagonally across the street or at a meter. For 25c you can add an hour if you're a slow riser.
The rooms are not big but not tiny either. The carpeting was showing a bit much wear (7th floor room) and the air conditioning struggled to keep the room really cool at night. The TV is large. The bathroom was small but adequate with a shower/tub. Except for the last morning when too many guests apparently showered at the same time and the pressure dropped and pipes began thumping a bit, it worked well. They offered us a free drink at either the pub or rooftop bar but be aware that only includes wine and beer. The view from the roof is nice and there are heaters up there if it's chilly or windy.
The staff were friendly and gracious, especially the doormen. There's no breakfast included but there is a great coffee shop across the street.

Room Tip: Try and face the front of the hotel. Dumpsters and trucks in the back get a bit loud some early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson. I appreciate you taking the time to write this nice review. I hope you can return in the near future and once again thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    468
    231
    129
    78
See reviews for
363
595
103
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Some may call this an historic hotel, but a close inspection will lead you to conclude that this is an underfunded, tired old grand dame that is in need of major renovations and wholesale changes.
We were a party of 4 and reserved 2 rooms. we checked into room 305, which would be small by European standards. This room does not have any place to hang clothing (yes, no closets or hooks) and had an overall shabby appearance. We attempted an upgrade and were shown 2 suites, rooms 718 and 720. The furniture in each was shabby(no, its not historically cute unless you live in section 8 housing) and one had a broken window which would not close and both had grossly inadequate air conditioning that was unable to bring down the temperature by any magnitude. They said they upgraded the air conditioning. If they did they went from the 50s to the 60s. You will recognize the wall units from trips you may have made to motels in the 70s.

We settled on room 305, quickly made arrangements for another hotel for the next evening and informed the desk we were canceling our reservation for the next evening. Our decision was ratified the next morning as the shower flow took several minutes to heat up as the water slowly trickled from the bath faucet and the sink water never warmed up. Our traveling companions went through the same exercise.

The location is convenient and the front desk tries there best.

This hotel is living on an old reputation an guests who have to convincing themselves that this is the way an historic hotel should be. Its not! Stay away. Way overpriced and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience at the hotel.We try to meet and exceed our guest expectation in both the quality of the experience and the room and I want to apologize for not meeting your expectation.
We are always reinvesting into the hotel to keep up with our guests requests and expectations and I am happy to say we are in the planning stage of remodeling our guests rooms once again.
Again, please accept my apology for your less than satisfactory stay and I hope you will consider giving us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavour, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was an amazing place to stay. Beautiful in itself and located in the beautiful downtown Rapid City, it was so much fun! The cleaning service could have been a bit more thorough (dirty robe left in closet from last guest :-S), but overall had a fabulous time just in the hotel. Definitely worth the time, and the parking. Parking is the only downside, as it was rather inconvient on a week day. Still will go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson. I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and I will share your comments with my staff so we can improve our operation for the next guests. Thank you again and I look forward to a return trip by you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The minute you walk in the lobby you understand that you are in South Dakota. The colors are all Native American and beautiful. They have a grand piano in the lobby and while we were there someone who knew how just sat down and started playing. He was very good. The hotel is right in the heart of the city, so walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants. They have statues of all the American Presidents on the street corners which makes walking down the street a hoot. But my favorite thing of all is the sky bar and restaurant. We were there for our wedding anniversary and the sky bar was the perfect way to celebrate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson during your recent stay in the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write this review about your stay and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and your experience up at our Vertex Sky Bar. I hope we get the pleasure of your company again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The lobby if beautiful. Our room was average (812). I'm not phased by ghosts... and we had no 'sightings' or anything 'ghost like' happen... but would have been neat. We will stay again. Only suggestion is to train staff to be more professional. Snapping gum while checking a customer in is not acceptable to most people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson and for writing this review. I appreciate your comments and I have shared them with my Department Heads so we can improve on the quality of service to our guests. Thank you and I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Rapid City close to Main Street Square. It is a great place to stay and enjoy all that downtown Rapid has to over. Service was excellent. this is no parking at this location but there is a parking garage located one block away .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson. With the Hotels central location in the heart of the newly renovated downtown are. It is the ideal place to stay and experience the best of Rapid City and the Black Hills. Thank you and I hope you can stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is a real gem! The painted ceilings, woodwork, and artisan level craftsmanship are outstanding. It adjoins the largest Seattle's Best coffee shop in the world. The lobby is warm and welcoming, and the ambience exceptional. I was there for a week, and yes, had a bit of a haunted hotel experience (didn't know it was well known for this!). There was also quite a bit of snow and the city handled it well. Love the Art Alley, statues of presidents, Sonja Holy Eagle's drum shop and local restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay a few floors below the rooftop restaurant and club, ask them to put you somewhere besides where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmpressofHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for making the Hotel Alex Johnson your home away from home on your recent trip to the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us and I do hope you can make a return trip to see your haunting friends. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing