We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foothills Inn(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,722)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveller rating
754
510
244
135
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
510
244
135
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparking garageirish pubghost tourhistoric charmgreat historic hotelheart of downtowntally's silver spoontop floortwo blocksrooms are smallcorner rooman older hotelrestaurants and shopsblack hillsfire pitsouth dakota
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,675 - 1,680 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Excellent location for day trips to the Badlands and Black Hills ... high quality bedding, a large and up to date flat screen (one that actually adjusts ratios automatically so you don't have to look at all these stretched out faces), and interesting decor .. there's also a good brew pub around the corner.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank rvanderbliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed here while visiting family and for the price, the room and location are worth it. We got a queen room for about $70 a night. The furniture and fixtures were all new, unfortunately they took up 90% of the room. A MASSIVE armoir in the corner housed a tiny flatscreen TV and left about a foot and a half around the bed. They'd have been better off to mount the television on the wall. BUT, if you're not planning on staying in your room for much more than sleeping, it's a deal.

My only other qualm was with their pet policy. I have a seven-pound dog traveling with me, their rate per night is $25 for a dog. I thought that was a bit ridiculous, so I kept my dog a secret.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel because of the reviews, which by most account seemed to be spot on. However, as most reviewers go, they tend to sugar coat, one eye open, one eye shut. No doubt there has been plenty done to make this old worn out downtown hotel back into a destination once again, but all the remodeling isn't enough to make up for less than seasoned staff behind the counter where you need them. Good manners, and being polite just isn't enough, there needs to be staff in place that can handle the weary traveler whom might just have issues with the good money they are spending here. The rooms are nice, but it is obivious the work here was rushed to make the transformation only eye appealing and under budget. Big bulky furniture in already small rooms, who was the interior design person on this project......Shaq! And the windows have no room darking drapes, just louver blinds. And the worse of it all the bathrooms, or lack of one is a joke. Obiviously these were grandfathered in, as they would never meet the space requirements under todays building code. The bed is too big, yet it was comfortable. The A/C heating unit was not updated, but appeared to lumber along and did not have any excessive noise. Our sink was slow in draining, almost clogging, but not quite. I'm certain we would not stay here again, but I have stayed in worse, but then again I have stayed in old renovated historic hotels before and will continue to give them a chance as I travel. I'll give this hotel a 6 out of 10! But next time, don't make me pay your so called historic tax, include that in the room rate where it belongs!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alliezoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The hotel has been renovated and is very nice. The lobby was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the music. The staff was exceptional. We had vehicle problems, and the staff was extremely helpful. It was repaired in a very short time. There are several places to eat within walking distance and many wonderful shops.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TickyBerea_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hotel has just finished a major renovation and the rooms are now comparable to a Marriott or Hilton in a larger city. I stayed both here and at the main Rapid City Holiday Inn and there is no comparison. The staff is friendly and helpful -- particularly the young Brit who seems to work the graveyard shift every night.

The only real limitation is the lack of a fine dining restaurant, but there are plenty of good options within a short walk, including the fantastic Corn Exchange restaurant. Any review that predates spring 2010 needs to be discounted heavily or just plain ignored. I stayed here before the renovation, in 2005, and the Alex Johnson was definitely a bit down at the heels. This ain't your grandma's Alex Johnson! This is by far the best choice for a stay in Rapid City, if you want a full service traditional hotel experience, as opposed to an indoor pool kidfest by the interstate next to an IHOP or Waffle House. This probably isn't the best choice for large familes or groups with hordes of kids. For adults who want a fine hotel experience, the Alex Johnson will exceed your expectations. The transformation is truly remarkable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UAProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews