We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations wonderful hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whispering Winds Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We all enjoyed our stay, i'm recommending to anyone who's planning a trip to this area, clean ,friendly and fun!!! Its close to all attractions and our accommodations were immaculate, thanks guys we will have these memories forever!!:-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandplandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our extended family was able to rent the whole place for a family reunion, and it was a great experience. Jim and Marla were extremely helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the Nautical cottage, which was beautifully decorated and really clean and fresh. Poked our heads into most of the other units over the course of the weekend, and they were all so nice and clean too. Really nice that so many different yard games, toys, etc were provided-and we made great use of them! Jim and Marla work hard to keep everything well maintained, and everything looked so nice. We were close enough to many of the main attractions to have great day trips-it was a great "home base" for the area. Nice "Iron Horse Stable" to house the motorcycles that had come along. Some family had motorhomes, tents, and a trailer, and used the camp area. Not shaded, but with power at least they could run A/C and fans. Can't recommend this place enough-it is fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hagenloveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and his friends stayed here a couple of years ago and had nothing but great things to say about the place, so I was excited to visit. They were right!! Whispering Winds Cottages is THE place to stay in the Black Hills. It's beautiful, quiet, clean, but most of all the owners Jim & Marla are AMAZING!! You won't find a place like this anywhere else in South Dakota! Thanks again Jim and Marla for being such wonderful hosts!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Our family stayed here for the first time in August. We loved our cottage - quaint, very clean and well maintained. During the day we took side trips through the Black Hills and saw many local attractions. Our kids loved the nightly fire pit where we roasted marshmellows and played games. What made our stay most special was the hospitality of our amamzing hosts, Jim and Marla!! They helped us plan our day trips so we got the out of each day. Jim hosted the nighly bonfires and told stories and filled us in on local color. It really brought our group of guests togehter, and we made friends we look forward to seeing next time!

All in all it was one of our best family trips!. We highly recommend a stay at Whispering Winds!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlapress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently stayed in the Sportman's Cottage and don't have enough good things to say about Whispering Winds Cottages. Jim and Marla are excellent hosts and they had a fire lit for us every night that we stayed. The cabin was very clean and provided more than enough room for the 6 people in our party. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradleyandCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time a couple months ago. It was perfect. We came back again over labor day with our family. The cottages are really nice. The location is great. And the owners are super nice. They treat you like friends.
MThat is why all the reviews of this place are outstanding. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtVandelay333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon during Sturgis week and although it was a ways to drive into Sturgis, we can't image having a better place to have spent that time. Jim and Marla were the greatest hosts. They gave us so much "insider" information that we were able to spend our time wisely and get the most out of the time we had. Every day was an adventure - one that we will never forget. The cottages were very clean and decorated nice. I even had to take some of the decorating ideas home with me. Thank you both for the best time ever on a vacation that will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
2.9 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
5.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
20.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
5.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Winds Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Winds Cottages

Address: 12720 S Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702-7416
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: £78 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Winds Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated lodging facility located 5 miles NE of Hill City, SD. One mile south of Three Forks on Highway 16. Perfect home base for all Black Hills attractions. Great for small groups and families vacationing together. Variety of options with one, two, and three bed units (mainly Queen Beds) Inviting decor. Microwaves and bar refrigerators. Central BBQ area with gas grill and bonfire pit. National Forest on 2 sides. Great Views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Whispering Winds Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing