We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort - Great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Winds Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Winds Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Resort - Great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We arrived after 10, and Jim had left the keys in the cabin. I had talked to him a couple of times before we got there, and he could not have been more pleasant. We arrived and stayed in the larger Sportsman cabin which was GREAT for our teenage kids. they each had there own bed in the bedroom, and my wife and I slept in the living room, so we could get up early and they could sleep.

The cabin was spotless and large and had everything we needed. We used the fire pit every night, and cooked hot dogs over the fires one night, and S'mores the next. He had the game cornhole which my family played and enjoyed. Jim always seemed to be around and was readily available with answers to our questions. He gave us some great advise on where to go to suit our needs. The resort seems to be in the center of it all and worked well for us.

This was a GREAT resort, and my wife and kids loved it. I would HIGHLY recommend this resort, and especially the sportsman's cabin if you need extra room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We visited the Black Hills area for the week of Independence Day. We were a bit late booking a place to stay and were VERY leery about booking a place online. I found Wispering Winds and found their prices to be excellent compared to other cabins I had found and based on the pictures online, the cabins looked great! After calling and talking to Marla on the phone, I could tell the owners were VERY friendly and attentive to detail. We were sold on the fact they have a campfire every night! We are avid campers and loved the ability to relax after a long day of sight-seeing around the fire.

When we arrived, we were so happy to see the cabin we decided on, the Sportsman Cabin, looked exactly like the pics they had on their website. It was VERY clean, very welcoming, and perfect for our party of 4 adults and a 14 month old child.

Marla and Jim are a perfect team for being in the hospitality business. They literally thought of everything and went WAY out of their way to meet our needs. To demonstrate their hospitality and kindness: while we were there and sitting around the fire one night, a couple had stopped in to see if they happened to have any cabins available. Although they had no vacancy, Jim went into the office and began calling various hotels and cabins trying to find these people a place to stay, even though he was not earing a dime from them. He called places for nearly a hour before he was finally successful. That really demonstrated that they go way out of their way to help out those in need!!

The location is great! We literally felt as though we were in the middle of it all! Due to the fact that the cabins are in a bit of a valley off the main road, our cell phones did not have reception but if we needed to make a call it was only a few minutes to Hill City where we had reception and they do have a land line if necessary. Even though the grounds are located on the main highway there, we never once heard the traffic in our cabin. And having air conditioning was definitely a big plus!!

I HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend their cabins and campsites for everyone! We plan to tell all of our family and friends who are heading to the Black Hills to stay with Marla and Jim at Whispering Winds. THANK YOU BOTH FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL STAY! We hope to be able to come and visit soon!!
-Amy & Aaron, Henry, Carrie, and Kaylee :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyInMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

The owners, Jim and Marla, are the warmest, most friendly hosts you could ever ask for. They go out of their way to ensure you are having a great time. We camped and they let us use their gas grill which was fabulous. The bathrooms/showers are super clean -- you feel like you are at home. We tented and found the highway noise a little bothersome at night, but got used to it after the first night. Those staying in cabins wouldn't have noticed the noise. There is even an "iron horse stable" to put the bike in! There is a central area where there is a fire every night and you can gather to meet new people. Jim and Marla think of everything! We will definitely be back and will be bringing friends! Whispering Winds can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidays54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was the best price for a cabin I could find in the area and it turned out to be a great place, very clean and the owners go out of there way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. They provide a grill if you want to cook your own dinner, we ended up cooking our hot dogs over the nightly bon fire. They also provide roasting sticks for marshmallows.
I would come back and invite the rest of my family for sure!
Thanks!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank goaliewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
275 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Ideally located immediately off the highway and literally with 30 minutes of almost every major attraction (a few are a bit farther - Badlands N.P. is less than an hour, Hot Springs and the Mammoth Site is less than an hour, Jewel Cave National Monument is less than 30 minutes, most of the rest are less). Only a bit more than an hour to places like Spearfish and Sturgis and Bear Butte State Park. The owners are great, and they are constantly improving the grounds for guests, including tent guests. Very accomodating owners. Our only very minor issue was the lack of cell phone coverage and/or Wi-Fi, but both are literally only minutes away in Hill City. Meanwhile, Jim and Marla are more than helpful with their land line (they helped us find a local pharmacy open on Sunday for an emergency prescription). Highly recommended for some very easy "roughin' it" (it sure is nice to take a shower and have your own bed after a good day of hiking and sightseeing). A nice bonus: Harney Peak, the South Dakota and Black Hills High Point, is visible from the cabins.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

My wife and I are from the twin cities area in Minnesota and stayed for a long weekend at Whispering Winds Cottages. The owners were genuinely nice. The cottages were very clean and comfortable. The location is great - not far from most all the attractions in the area. The owners had a campfire going in the evening and we were able to cook on the fire. It was very fun and relaxing vacation. I highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoors4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Our stay was a last minute family vacation in the middle of a business trip. We found the cottages on our gps, called, stayed three nights, and have never regreted a minute of it. Actually we have talked about it so much some of our family have asked us to take them there for vacation too. I have read the other reviews and completely agree with everything that they say. If you want to go on a vacation that feels like you have packed your home and brought it along with you stay at Wispering Winds Cottages!
Also just a note to tell you how sweet and good the owners really are..... we stayed during the bike rally and the price for their wonderful rooms were cheaper than any Super 8, Motel 6, ect. they didn't raise our prices like everyone else had to take advantage during the hot tourist season. They also brought a baby bed to our room with no extra charge. Truely amazing people living out their dream and making others happy while doing so. Pat yourselves on the back, you are doing a wonderful job! keep it up and we hope to get to come back soon :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
5.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.9 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Winds Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Winds Cottages

Property: Whispering Winds Cottages
Address: 12720 S Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702-7416
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Winds Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated lodging facility located 5 miles NE of Hill City, SD. One mile south of Three Forks on Highway 16. Perfect home base for all Black Hills attractions. Great for small groups and families vacationing together. Variety of options with one, two, and three bed units (mainly Queen Beds) Inviting decor. Microwaves and bar refrigerators. Central BBQ area with gas grill and bonfire pit. National Forest on 2 sides. Great Views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Whispering Winds Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing