We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Diamond Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Double Diamond Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband, daughter and I were so happy we chose Double Diamond! We visited in May and stayed in the Pine room. It was perfect the for the three of us. Our 5 year old daughter especially liked the friendly horses and hot tub. We'll be sure to visit DD again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank OutdoorLuv813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
waukegan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband, daughter, and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Double Diamond Ranch in July. What a wonderful experience and truly a relaxing stay in the Black Hills! We stayed in the Aspen Room, which could easily accommodate a family of 6. The website truly portrays the beautifully decorated Aspen, which was immaculate!!! The innkeepers provided many extras not usually provided in housekeeping accommodations like an assortment of spices, plastic baggies, large container of coffee, assortment of hot chocolate, and cleaning soaps. Plenty of towels and soap were stocked in the bathroom. Everything you need! That was a nice plus. The Ranch overlooks a meadow, the hills, and you can easily spot wildlife. A highlight of our stay was getting back to our place by late afternoon so we could enjoy watching the horses from our covered porch. It was so relaxing! The Ranch also has log cabin houses throughout for larger families. This was truly a gem of a stay and highly recommend staying at the Double Diamond Ranch. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer. On our drive home, we kept talking about the Ranch and how our stay enhanced our trip to the Black Hills. It is obvious that the innkeepers, Lee Ann and RIch enjoy what they are doing and go the extra mile to make their guests feel welcome.
We loved staying at the Double Diamond Ranch and the Aspen! So will you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerWaukegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
250 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for the ultimate in luxury, beauty and comfort, look no further than the Double Diamond Ranch. I spent a week with my family and in laws in the Spring Cabin at the DDR and I can't wait to return! The first thing that I noticed was all the gorgeous woodwork and detailing in the cabin. Beautiful, top of the line appliances and gorgeous scenery is what you can expect from the Double Diamond Ranch. It has it all...luxury, beauty, escape, serenity. And the Jensen's are just awesome! They will make sure that your stay is top notch! It is so beautiful that it can be a bit much to take in, so I just suggest that you keep your eyes open and soak it up!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Two friends and I traveled to the Black Hills for a few days of relaxation and sightseeing. This ranch was a great choice for us to stay for a few nights. Our cabin looked out onto the meadow, hills and wildlife of the Black Hills. We had a large room which included a full kitchen, large eating area, living space and three separate bed areas, plus a large bathroom. We also enjoyed a covered deck with comfortable furniture and hot tub. The property seemed fairly new and updated and it was nice to unpack for a few days. The Hill City location was great for most things we wanted to experience while there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aspen "cabin" which was on the second story so you have do stairs to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Beautiful, we stayed in the Spring Creek Cabin. Very lovely, spacious, CLEAN, comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked, couldn't have asked for anything more. Plenty of towels too. My bed was extremely comfortable. Hot tub, very enjoyable, including the towels that were designated for the hot tub and placed right by the door. There was a new washer and dryer- it was great to do laundry after 4 days on the road.
It seems like they thought of everything. Garbage bags, paper towels, soap, coffee, etc.- If you happen to purchase any of these things at the grocery store, think about leaving some of it behind, leave it for the next guest, pay it forward.
Great location, make this your anchor point for visiting the area attractions, you won't be disappointed.
No issues with cell service or wireless, and I do have Verizon.
Nearby gas station, convenience store, a bar and the pizza there is mighty tasty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sassafras G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband, my daughter and I stayed two nights at the double diamond while we were visiting Mt. Rushmore and the area. What a treat! The owner of the ranch could not have been more warm and inviting. We felt completely at home. The horses were beautiful to watch. The dog nikki was a real treat. While my daughter played in the creek nikki was right there with her. They had a blast. Then when we took off across the creek for a walk nikki came along! What fun! The views were just amazing. The loacation is perfect. Just a great find.Our stay truly exceeded my expectations. I couldn't have ask for more. Just a lovely place and if I am ever back in the area I know were I will be staying.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denneycheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I, along w/ our 17-yr old son stayed in the Aspen Room. The location of the DD was central to everything we wanted to see. Upon arrival, Rich greeted us and showed us how to use the hot tub, and to our room - waiting for us was a plate of soft chewy and yummy cookies - that was a nice touch. The kitchenette has a dorm-sized fridge so bear that in mind while shopping for supplies; there is a grocery store just up the road in Hill City. If you need saran wrap, tin foil, or 'cold' condiments - you'll need to pick those up. Otherwise, dish soap, paper towels, eating and cooking dishes are provided. The bathroom has a stand-up shower and full-size bathtub w/ plenty of vanity space - they provided soap, shampoo/conditioner, hair dryer. The TV is a bit small - a larger size screen would just top off this otherwise ideal suite. The semi-privacy of the other beds are nice and the floor plan is vast enough that you feel comfortable / roomy - the room also offered WIFI. The furniture, fixtures, and appliances (almost forgot to mention the gas fireplace), including the bathroom all looked relatively new or barely used - very good to excellent condition. The room opens up to a private deck that has a table for relaxing outside and enjoying the view. Once in the room, I didn't hear any outside noise - beds were very comfy. The only other downside is no laundry facilities, with that said - LeeAnn had offered us to use the washer/dryer she uses for sheets if it was available - we just planned ahead and packed enough clothes - but that was because we were driving. For those who pack light when flying - you may want to check ahead about washing clothes. There are some very nice wineries on 385 heading towards Hill City - I recommend the Red A** and the Stone Face. If you head towards Deadwood - I recommend the Sugar Shack for an awesome hand-pattied hamburger in a casual environment. If you want to ride ATVs - Wayne at Mad Mountion on 385 towards Deadwood geared us up and sent us on some awesome trails - really nice guy. The grayline bus tour company was also a great way to spend a full-day - narrative tour. It was more expensive than a standard hotel but the peace / quiet plus privacy in a fully-furnished suite was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
20.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
6.0 mi away
Summer Creek Inn
Summer Creek Inn
#1 of 25 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Diamond Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Diamond Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Property: Double Diamond Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23818 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6558
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful horse ranch just 4 miles from Hill City and close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. New cabin that sleeps up to 10 and awesome guest houses and suites. Hot tubs, fireplaces, satellite tv, air conditioning, kitchens. Watch the horses and visit the new moms and foals just waiting for a pet or two. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing