We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"Windy hill'”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in town to visit Mt. Rushmore, Black Hills and the Badlands. Stayed here on TripAdvisors recommendation and was not disappointed. The hotel sits up on a windy hill, just off of I-80. The suite was very comfortable. Breakfast was provided and was very enjoyable. All of the sites of Rapid City were easily accessible as the hotel is near the truck route which is a bypass of Rapid City. We were there prior to Memorial Day and many of the minor attractions were not open yet. It was however an easy, scenic drive to Mt. Rushmore and the Crazy Horse monument.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    289
    58
    9
    3
See reviews for
701
455
51
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel rates as one of the best Comfort Inns I have stayed at, and one of the best of this class of hotels I have used. My wife and I spent three nights here, and we're very pleased. There are no negatives we can say about. It. Well done!

Green Features: Good to excellent. There do not seem to be any problem areas.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecdoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello ecdoglover!!
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Platinum Award winning hotel. We're so happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you get an opportunity to return to the area. We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the front door until the moment we checked out, it was first class service all the way.
A huge shout out to CHERYL as she was especially helpful - and especially purple! The property is on the east side of the city and there is a lot of wide open spaces there. Easy interstate access - easy access to the highway for Rushmore and all the touristy attractions. There are a couple of fast food restaurants nearby and a couple of convenience stores as well.
The room was very spacious - the bathroom was very large. The linens appeared to be fairly new (towels were soft, blankets were comfy, large fluffy pillows, and the sheets were bleach white) The room was also spotless - I walked around in my white socks - a tell tale sign of clean. Yes, they remained white.
The pool area - very nice. Great entertainment for a couple of 13 year olds cooped up in a vehicle for several hours. I sat at a table in the area and plugged in my electronic device and facebooked while they played.
There is no need for a Dennys for breakfast - this is one of the best run hotel breakfasts I have encountered. The waffles are excellent (especially the cinnamon ones). And the staff keeps the tables and the buffet area SPOTLESS.
I was amazed at the effort of this property in "cleanliness" - and the customer service by ANY of the EMPLOYEES was outstanding.
This will be where I come back - Thank you for helping make my vacation very comfortable and pleasant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marci4tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello marci4tony!
Thank you for the fantastic review of our Platinum Award winning hotel! Thank you for recognizing one of our staff members. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to her. We're so happy you found our location and amenities to be exactly what you needed. Our staff does a great job to make sure you feel like you're home. I hope you get a chance to head back this way soon. We'll have some warm cookies waiting for your kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I smiled immediately when we entered our room! The maids had taken the time yo create sculptures from the towels! We had a lg heart on our hot tub and an elephant with his trunk up on our bed ! We had traveled gorgeous about 2 weeks an it was nice to have a room you remember! It was. Very clean an comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev1443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Bev1443!
Thank you for the great review! Don't you just love it when your first impression of a hotel suite is based on the animals that greet you in the room? Towel animals, that is! Our housekeeping staff loves putting towel animals our rooms. They're coming up with new ones pretty often. I saw a stingray just the other day! Thank you for staying with us - hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Once a month I travel to Rapid City to work and have stayed at this motel now for over five years. I have always received exceptional service and a very clean room. The very helpful and friendly staff, (Cindy, Gail, Aliah) make you feel very welcome and appreciated. Cindy was gone this past winter and I was very happy to see her back because she is so helpful and tries so hard to make your stay comfortable. If you get the chance to stay in Rapid city for business or pleasure, I would highly recommend staying at this motel because of the staff and the accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello friend!
Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We love having you stay with us. Our front desk staff is top notch. We would not be as highly rated on TripAdvisor or with be a 3-time Platinum Award winning hotel without them! We're happy to have Cindy back as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here 2 separate times traveling to and from a location in Nebraska. The rooms are VERY clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast was well stocked and good. The restaurant just to the east was recommended to us by the staff and we also went there twice since it was really, really good. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello!
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our Platinum Award winning hotel. We're so glad you chose to stay with us each trip. Our staff does a fantastic job with our breakfast, front desk, housekeeping and maintenance - we're lucky to have them on our team! We hope you come back soon. We'll have some warm cookies waiting in our lobby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in Rapid City recently.We came for our daughter's graduation from Nursing School. We found all of the staff, from the front desk individuals, housekeeping, maintenance, to breakfast help to be very professional and pleasant! The facilities were very clean! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 381Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello 381Becky!
Thank you for writing such a great review of our Platinum Award winning hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff loves interacting with our guests. After all, you're guests in our home!
Congratulations on your daughter's graduation! With that field of study, she'll be able to find something very quickly, if she hasn't already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.6 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Property: Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Address: 1333 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing