We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weary Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great room - clean with comfortable beds. Customer service is excellent. Breakfast is outstanding. Only downside was there was only one ice machine and that was on the first floor. Room had plenty of space and was very quiet.

Room Tip: I think any room would be good although I would select one away from the elevators and guest laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate you taking time to review our all-suite property! I’m ecstatic to hear that your room
was great and that you got to experience our top-notch customer service! I do apologize that we
didn’t inform you of the ice machine locations, we have one on first and one on the third floor. I hope you will visit us the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    278
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
647
419
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great place to stay! Room was clean and even the sofa sleeper was comfortable! Conveniently located off of highway & great location to visit Mt. Rushmore & other areas around the Black Hills. Plenty of food at breakfast and kept clean & hot. Would definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our Platinum Award Winning Hotel! We love our location, just off I-90 with the bypass around the city, it makes traveling to the attractions easy for our guests. Please visit us the next time you’re in the area, we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stay at Choice Hotel properties all over the USA. This is the best property that I have ever stayed in. Best of all, I had my family with me. Not a business trip this time. I will be back.AAAA+++++++++++++

Room Tip: Book ahead. This level of service is hard to find.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green. I wish all were this way. They are a leader
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 42toro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. I’m very happy to hear that you got a break from the business trips and were able to have your family here as well! We’ll have some fresh, warm cookies waiting for you when you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice hotel, comvenient location (just off the interstate, and an easy drive into downtown Rapid City and several shopping centers), a good jumping off point for Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, and the area's other attractions. There's an indoor water park across the street - a big attraction for my young boys. The breakfast was a little better than usual. One of the better places we stayed at on a 2 week road trip.

Room Tip: My guess is that the rooms are probably about equal. Ours was on the first floor, across from the po...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wasn't there long enough to notice, so I can't comment - the only,thing I noticed was the standard appeal to reuse the towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Good afternoon Dave P,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review our all-suite property! I’m glad our
location made sightseeing in the area easy for you and your family. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very quiet and very comfortable rooms. Pleasant staff. The breakfast was adequate and always plenty of food and the staff was very active cleaning and making sure items were restocked. Recommend this location to anyone traveling to Rapid City.

Green Features: Good practices and hopefully people take advantage of keeping the lines from day to day if possible.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate you taking time to review our Platinum Award Winning Hotel! Our breakfast
attendants always make sure our guests start their day off right. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope you will stay with us the next time you visit the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a new hotel and let me just say, they built this one perfectly! Beautiful, clean, super friendly staff but best of all: THE ROOM!!! We got a King suite and when we walked in the door we both looked at each other and said, "Can we live here!?!" It was that wonderful! Roomy, clean, beautifully decorated. Bed was super comfortable, plenty of pillows, extra blanket, plenty of towels. Water pressure was outstanding. There is not one thing I can say bad about this hotel! Breakfast was hot and plentiful with two gals running back and forth making sure to all the guest needs. The pool was great as well. It is very close to the interstate so it made travel a breeze.

Room Tip: We had one a King suite. LOVED it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoMorningglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Well what can I say....THANK YOU for all the wonderful comments! I’m so happy that our
accommodations met and exceeded your expectations! Please come stay with us anytime, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a fairly new hotel property so it is very clean and updated inside and out. The breakfast room is quite large and accommodates many guests. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with refrigerators and average size bathrooms. The hotel was near capacity during our stay but we didn't hear any noise from the adjacent rooms so the walls must be pretty thick which is a fantastic feature during a busy vacation season. The location of the hotel is right on I-90, so you can get some rest and be on the road quickly as well as being close to many dining options in the area. The wi-fi wasn't working for us even though they have several sign-in options; it wouldn't hold a connection for more than a few seconds. My only serious issue of concern is that during a recent storm, they had some mishap with the elevator shaft/roof covering and there was a puddle of water inside the light of the elevator. When we reported it to the front desk staff, they seemed to laugh it off and acted like it was no big deal. I think guest safety should be of the utmost importance and they could have at least made it look like they cared. I'm not an electrician but I think water coming through a light fixture is considered a bad thing. The elevator should have been taken out of service since they have two of them and made the repairs immediately. Other than that issue, the hotel is quite nice and I would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtngirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our all-suite hotel! I’m very happy that the room was quiet and comfortable for you! We have addressed the issues with the wifi and are actually installing a new system as we speak. I’m very sorry that the front desk staff didn’t take your concern seriously, I will also address this. As for the elevator, very rarely we get the perfect combination of wind and rain that blows water into the elevator ventilation system. However, it does not harm the lights or the system in any way. Thank you for staying with us and we would love to welcome you back with some fresh, warm cookies the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Property: Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Address: 1333 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing