We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodging for Black Hills Exploration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lodging for Black Hills Exploration”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Clean, conveniently located for exploration of western South Dakota, well managed, abundant amenities! We spent four wonderful nights at this location and were very happy about our lodging. After the provided hot breakfast, we would leave each day of our stay for a different Black Hills-Badlands location and return from our adventures to a clean, quiet, comfortable room in the evening. Comfort Suites was conveniently located near Rapid City restaurants and to expressways that delivered us to our daily destinations quickly. Great value for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow.....thank you for the great review! I'm so happy to hear that your four nights with us were so wonderful! We love our location as it gives our guests such easy access to not only the sights but dining and shopping as well. Please visit us again soon!

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    279
    51
    9
    3
See reviews for
654
431
50
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great value near major South Dakota locations like the Badlands, Mt. Rushmore, and Crazy Horse. Hotel was well-kept and the service was wonderful. I would definitely recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay with a family. Just note that everything (shops, etc.) requires a drive to get to. Although there is a great steakhouse just across the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the great review! I'm glad your found the property "well kept" and the "service wonderful"! We are located just off I-90 on Exit 61 on a very convenient bypass that takes you easily and quickly to downtown or the sights! We also love the Dakotah Steakhouse just next door, an amazing choice for a great steak! We hope you will visit us again soon!

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent our vacation here and found the staff extremely helpful, courteous and overall fun to chat with. The room we were in was on the second floor which was great for not having to wait for the elevator. Only drawback of the room was I could hear the cooling units at night but after the first night I could sleep through the background noise. Hotel was overall quiet and the staff even mentioned that they keep an eye out for noise after 10pm which was nice. Clean rooms, comfortable bed and quiet time after touring the sights in SD. We would definitely stay here again. Only drawback was the pool is smaller than I would expect and filled up pretty quick with vacationers like us but we still had fun and met other great families doing what we were doing, relaxing on vacation.

Well done Staff and Management.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diesel4036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience! It's always great to hear that our guests had a good experience with our staff, even if it was just "chatting". I'm also very pleased that your suite was quiet and comfortable and that you were able to get some relaxation in on your vacation! Please visit us the next time you're in the area!

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Fantastic hotel, extremely comfortable bed. Very clean and well kept up. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to South Dakota. Close to Mount Rushmore and other attractions. Conveniently located.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm ecstatic to hear that your stay was so enjoyable! We look forward to your next visit to the area, we'll have some warm cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is near the interstate, which can be convenient for travelers, but it is a 15 minute drive from downtown Rapid City. There are few restaurants right by the property and almost none within walking distance, but many one exit away with a nearby mall. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and modern. The staff was helpful and friendly. The Comfort Inn definitely met our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KansanRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the great review of our all-suite hotel! I'm glad to hear that your suite was spacious, clean and modern. We are located just on the outskirt of Rapid City with convenient access to dining, shopping and the sights. Please visit us the next time you're in the area!

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Everything from the people to the facility was great. Traveling with a young family of six, you don't always know what to expect - there have been a lot of misses, but this place is definitely a 'hit'. Thanks to the great staff for their hospitality and friendly faces and going the 'extra mile' on a couple of issues. We'll definitely stay again when we return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the great review! I'm so glad we could help make your first trip to the Black Hills a "HIT"!! We will look forward to your next visit and we'll have some friendly faces and fresh, warm cookies waiting for you!

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyoming
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean rooms wish they had a bigger suite for the six of us my 12 year twins didn't like the sofa sleeper too much. Staff very friendly except the breakfast. My wife was getting eggs when one of the staffer who apparently couldn't wait to put more eggs down was very rude to my wife was harsh in saying "excuse me" the pool is very small and the hot tub jets did not work. As for breakfast I have seen better. Gravy for biscuits and gravy was cold. And needed Bigger area for breakfast. I guess I was hoping for better. One other note. The room was not entirely clean as the area above the microwave was dirty. For the price it should have been spotless.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Smitty3742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our Platinum Award Winning Hotel. I'm happy to hear that your room was nice and clean and that you had a positive, friendly experience with most of the staff. I'm very sorry you were rushed in the breakfast room, our breakfast attendants carry very hot items in and out but still need to be courteous, we will address these issues with them. We hope you will visit us again the next time you're in the area.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Property: Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Address: 1333 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing