We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in food quality”
Review of On the Border

On the Border
Ranked #90 of 268 Restaurants in Rapid City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
South Hampton
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lacking in food quality”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I dined here after a long day of traveling and were disappointed with the food quality. I order a single enchilada with a side of rice. When my dish arrived I found the tortilla to be very hard on the bottom. I informed the waitress of this matter and she had the kitchen prepare another one that was suppose to be "fresh", but this was not the case. The enchilada had a soft tortilla shell but the middle was cold. Yuk! Because we were tired and didn't want to take another chance on being disappointed again, we left restaurant. This experience left a unfavorable taste in my mind and I have no desire to return to this establishment.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MayGoEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    60
    42
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pulled pork tacos!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The pulled pork tacos here are great here. Chips and salsa are yummy as well. Enjoy a margarita while you visit.

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Patience is key”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Wait staff is god awful but the queso and food is great. Just a matter of if your willing to wait for your ord ers. I would avoid on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid city
1 review
“I will definitely be going back”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had a great experience at on the border our server was excellent the food was very good the atmosphere was happy and the place is super cute too

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexandrareistergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rapid city
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was very pleased when i arrived. my server was very attentive, the manager even stopped by to ask how our food was. i will definitely be returning

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 
Rapid City, SD
 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing