We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, very fair”
Review of Summer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My new wife and I recently made our way through the black hills and decided to have a 4 night stay at the Summer Creek Inn B&B. First off, let me tell you how fantastic this place is. Almost 4 years old, Daniel and Nancy built the house from scratch. Everything is brand new, high quality and luxurious. Our first impression was that the place was too fancy for a couple of young newlyweds like ourselves. That was somewhat true. The place is just gorgeous! The Summer Creek Inn is centrally located 20 minutes from most major attractions, just a few minutes further for everything else and Rapid City is just over 35 minutes away. The B&B is very reasonable in terms of room rates with the highest room rate under $200 a night. That is a deal if you see everything that the room has to offer.

There we're just a few things that I experienced that made me lower my rating to a 4/5. The breakfast is made and served by Daniel and Nancy every morning. The meals were very good and was some of the best tasting breakfast I have had. The downside is that the portions seem like they would be served for a small child. I am a pretty big guy and the last meal we had their was one slice of french toast and two eggs alongside a moderate sized whipped cream fruit desert. Breakfast is not included in the room rate. Breakfast is an extra $12 per person, per meal. So if your a bigger person, or if you like to be full after a meal, This breakfast will not suit your needs.

The Summer Creek Inn has a liquor license and the B&B will not let you keep alcohol inside any of their fridges. This wasn't a big deal for us, but being a young couple, we did bring our alcohol to the house thinking that we could use some fridge space. If you plan on bringing food for lunches or dinners be aware that you will be allowed to use the 'community' fridge. Just be cautious, the fridge is about the size of a dorm room fridge. Another thing that I noticed was after our second night the thermostat outside our room was locked. I had tried to reduce the temp in our room from 85 degrees to about 75 degrees. I did that both nights because it was too warm for our comfort. Then the third night the thermostat was locked. The room description says that you will have access to robes and high speed internet. Our time at the B&B, I did not see robes at all, and the wifi was not high speed. The inn keepers said that the internet was through their satellite company, but not high speed, it seemed like it was a dial up connection. This was a real downer for us, not only because of checking emails and things, but we're foreign to the black hills and know nothing about it. We had very limited access to look for things to do or getting directions to the areas we wanted to go. So plan ahead, and don't rely on having an internet connection.

All in all our stay at the Summer Creek Inn was very good and very fair. The few downers were unable to overcome how nice and beautiful the house is and how nice the inn keepers were. If we ever come through the black hills again, we will be staying at the Summer Creek Inn again. It was a good fit for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewbkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

After a long day of sight-seeing, luxury is such a soothing tonic for the soul... from a nice bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon served in Riedel wine glasses to luxuriating in a spa tub and drying off with thick Egyptian cotton towels--and finally ending the day by sliding between the soft high-thread-count sheets--all I can say is Ahhhhhhh. Oh, and did I mention the young newlyweds serenading each other at the Baby Grand Piano? It was like a priceless dream. Can this be real?

Inspiring is the word for this place. It inspires anyone who notices all the careful attention to the smallest details. But the truly impressive part is that guests actually feel comfortable utilizing all the ammenities because the hosts make the guests feel like they're at home. "Go ahead, watch a movie in the home theatre, play billiards, or play the piano... we designed this place for you to enjoy yourselves!"

I guarantee, you won't be sorry for spending the money--it's an amazing experience that's worth every penny!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LuAnn966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

There is good reason that this property is ranked number 1. A new residential property beautifully maintained by owners Dan and Nancy. The rooms are large, well appointed, comfortable and quiet. The common areas are like a manor home (check out the theater). If you have never been to the Black Hills ... go, and stay at Summer Creek. You woun't be disappointed. Hosts are knowledgable and helpful. All in all a great experience.

J & J Missouri and Mexico

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our 3-night stay at Summer Creek was absolutely wonderful! Immaculate, luxurious, and peaceful, Summer Creek provided a welcome respite after days of site-seeing and hiking. It is centrally located in the beautiful Black Hills; an ideal location to travel to all the attractions, lakes, and trailheads. Our warm and welcoming hosts, Daniel & Nancy, are two lovely people who give 100% to make sure all guests feel at home. Each morning, we enjoyed their wonderful conversations around our delicious and hearty breakfasts. I don't say this often after a vacation, but we will return to the Black Hills and we will be staying at Summer Creek. Simply the best!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianethegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I typically enjoy bed and breakfasts on our travels. Our experience has been that they are generally cleaner and more comfortable (more amenities, etc.). The Summer Creek Inn surpassed any of our previous B&B experiences. Wow, what a beautiful B&B, nestled in the Black Hills. The location is perfect, and the room we enjoyed was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The morning breakfasts superb. The host and hostess, Dan and Nancy, were friendly, hospitable and very helpful with tips on local sites and restaurants. If you're looking for a comfortable, warm, enticing and enjoyable bed and breakfast experience in the heart of the Black Hills, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleB2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent three nights at Summer Creek in Suite 9, located on the top floor. It was a very quiet and comfortable room. The house is only a few years old and is beautiful and clean. Dan and Nancy were very friendly and helpful with information about the local area. The full breakfasts were all very good. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A beautiful big house, built in 2009, in a peaceful location just off Rte385 between Hill City and Deadwood, Summer Creek Inn is a fantastic place to spend a few days in the Black Hills of Dakota. Perfectly placed to explore the area, with all the major attractions, including Mt Rushmore, the Crazy Horse memorial, and Custer State Park nearby. The Badlands are within easy reach too. It was our first visit to this lovely area of the US and we managed to see pretty much everything we planned to during a three night stay here.

The friendly and helpful hosts, Dan and Nancy, are lovely people, and provide a fabulous fresh cooked breakfast, different each day, at 8:30 each morning. You couldn't ask for anything better when staying in a B&B, and we've stayed in quite a few. It's nice to meet and chat with other travelers in the beautiful large dining room each morning. The inn has some extraordinary features, including a luxurious home cinema worthy of a Beverley Hills home and Dan has a collection of 400 DVDs to view there or in your room. 5 star luxury and better than many top hotels.

We stayed in Suite 2, a huge room with a very comfortable bed, and plenty of storage space for your belongings (including toiletries bag!). The bathroom is luxurious, with twin washbasins, a large shower with multiple jets, and a large spa bathtub which fills from the ceiling! Plenty of hot water, fluffy towels, face cloths and toiletries. Outside is a private patio and hot tub which we made much use of when not out on the road. About 4 miles south is the Horse Creek Inn, a very good restaurant which gives a discount to Summer Creek guests, and there are plenty of other places to eat in Hill City, a few miles further down the road.

If we ever return to the Black Hills, we can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gojph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
17.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
14.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
15.3 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
13.6 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn

Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range: £111 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn. Centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the Inn is perfect for weddings, class reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Summer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing