We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Golden Phoenix

Golden Phoenix
Ranked #70 of 268 Restaurants in Rapid City
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reims, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I don't normally go to Chinese restaurants as I much prefer other cuisines, but this particular Chinese has seen me return time and time again when I am in Rapid City on business.

The lunch specials can not be bettered either for price, taste or quantity.

This restaurant is always busy with travellers and locals alike, providing quality meals at a fast food pace.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saintry sur Seine, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“SO good”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

an excellent Chinese restaurant, with a lot of choice on the menu and friendly service. The food is really delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dolub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best Chinese in Rapid City”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have eaten here for 20 plus years and have never gotten a bad meal. I would recommend this to all that enjoy a GREAT meal. Buffet choice on Sunday's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cat57701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not bad”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The atmosphere is good but the food is not as good as some other Chinese restaurant nearby. The food is not bad but a little pricy than some.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank helen_helen_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The Phoenix Rises to the Top!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our visit to the Golden Shanghai came as a result of a recommendation and good reviews on TripAdvisor and we were definitely led in the right direction!
This was the best Chinese food I’ve had in a long time although I must qualify that I’d recently moved from Bismarck, ND where I found NO Chinese food really worth mentioning.
The food was good although the Mongolian Beef I ordered (medium spice) had no kick whatsoever but I have a feeling (considering the overall inattentiveness) that this may have fall on our waiter’s shoulders. The dish was also shy on rice noodles but overall the flavor was very good. My dining companion had a chicken shrimp combination that was also quite good. The sauce (garlic) was lacking in flavor but the large and abundant shrimp made up for it. My order came with soup and I ordered the hot and sour which was thicker than most and full of mushrooms and some chicken (a surprise!). The fried eggroll was large and full of flavor.
The menu says to ask if you don’t want MSG which surprised me. With so many people having sensitivities to it, many restaurants just forego it nowadays. We both asked to that it not be in our dishes but considering the headache and unquenchable thirst I had after dinner, I wonder if that request was honored.
Overall I give this place high marks as the atmosphere was pleasant and clean. The food tasted very good and came in plentiful portions which made it an excellent value. I’ll be back…I hear there’s a secret Korean menu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeanderingMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Phoenix also viewed

 

Been to Golden Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing