We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rushmore Shadows Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rushmore Shadows Resort
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here in our RV with full hookup for 4 nights and were very happy. Office staff was nice and helpful. We were very impressed with the shower/bathroom facilities! Very clean. Shower stalls open to the outside, so either men or women can use them. Plenty of room to get dressed, good locks, Our boys enjoyed the mini golf course. Laundry facilities are very nice. Grounds were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
We're glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort. We hope your vacation in the beautiful Black Hills brings you and your family great memories for many years to come.Thanks for letting us know how we did and for taking the time to give us your feedback. Safe travels where ever you may roam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    16
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
36
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We made our reservations (2/sites) for 12 nights in October or 2012 for August 2013 and paid in full at the time we made the reservations. We also requested pull through s for our large rigs. We were told they would do the best they could. We arrived and found there were no pull through sites and we were directed to 2 very short narrow sites that we were not able to get into. We selected 2 other sites that we could fit in to. The sites were not level and the sewer pipe was up hill! There was "NO" WIFI (we heard 3 different reasons why it didn't work), the restrooms were filthy and not maintained for the level of occupancy during the week, our road was washed out and was a potential hazard for our motorcycles...I asked if they could fix the ruts and all they did was place orange cones out...but yet, they felt it was necessary to have the crew add gravel around the dumpsters! Go figure. Office staff was pleasant enough. This is not an RV Resort by no means. I didn't meet very many other guests that were happy with this location during our stay. This reviewer would recommend you look else where.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort. Each year we improve Rushmore Shadows using feedback we receive from guests. We know everyone likes to keep in touch while they are on the road and we are aware that the guest WIFI is an important issue. Recent equipment storm damage in the area interrupted our immediate efforts to improve the WIFI service but we will continue to press this issue with our service providers.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations and would like another opportunity to do so by giving you a 25% discount on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

our stay at Rushmore Shadows was great. I felt safe letting my 7-year-old roam around this was a first for him.there was enough wide open space that I felt like I could see him from most areas. And he felt like he had a little freedom. We loved the pool it was perfectly heated even though it was chilly in the evenings. the staff was very friendly, check in and out was a breeze.loved that they had free bikes for the kids to ride and free mini golf for the kids to play.I didn't feel nickel and dimed to death while staying there. even the membership presentation was quick and easyand I didn't feel unwelcome even though we said no. I was concerned about their only being 2 showers in the shower house. But I never had a problem with 1 being available when I needed it. We did one night in the cabin and three nights in the tent and have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort! We hope your vacation in the beautiful Black Hills brings you and your family great memories for for many years to come. Thanks for letting us know we did a good job and for taking the time to give us your feedback.Safe travels where ever you may roam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked 2 months in advance. Was between KOA and them. They said that they had a pull through for our stay. We are a 34' pulling a car. 11 campgrounds into our 1.25 month trip, and ABSOLUTELY no issues. We got to Rushmore Shadows and was assigned a small back-in. When I questioned them they said that "all sites are assigned on s first-come, first-served basis". Who ever heard of that? They certainly didn't advertise that! After having to play the "Would you like to speak to a supervisor?" game, they gave us the last pull through.

It is a larger campground. The facilities are "fine", but the main building only had 2 showers for men. They were nice, but of inadequate number for a place this large.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a well-run campground with the intention of serving campers, skip Rushmore Shadows. KOA is 300 times better. If you are looking for an expensive membership campground group, that acts like the tradtional scammy timeshare peddler, then these guys are for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RevDebiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the type of site you requested during your reservation call. We do try to accommodate each guest with their requests and we are glad that we had the opportunity to put you on the pull through site you wanted. Thank you for making us aware about the showers in the clubhouse and we do also provide showers and bathrooms at the North End of our park for our guests to use. We do hope that your trip to the Black Hills was wonderful as there is much to see and do in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here over 4th of July for two nights. We were told we might end up not being hooked up because of overbooking but ended up having full hook ups the entire time. We did not have a real site though and was on a "B" sure right next to the bathroom which was ok Sind our RV is smaller. Huge place with lots of room. Great dog run and fun activities for the kids. The one draw back was paying for putt putt. While the course was cute and quaint, with a large family like ours $5/putt putt on a small course seemed a little unreasonable, so we opted out. Even though we have a shower in our RV I use showers when I can because it gives more room. The showers were nice and well kept, I also liked the nice large washing basin in the bathroom as well. Overall we had fun thank you for the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Txmomtomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushmoreShadows, Public Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your review on Rushmore Shadows Resort. 4th of July is definitely a very busy time here and we do our best to accommodate everyone whenever possible. The mini golf course is a recent addition and your comments are appreciated. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in the Black Hills. Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Fourche
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rushmore Shadows Resort is a good place to bring your family. Has a great pool, and it's minutes from all the major attractions. So we liked that part. They just put in a "small-ish" 18 hole putt-putt golf course that was actually alot of fun. Could use to fix-up the trailer rental "cabins". Just rip out the carpet already. Way too much foot traffic to keep them clean from year to year. Putting in inexpensive laminate wood flooring on the lower level will fix this. Otherwise everything was super clean as always. The Air conditioning was exceptional. Rushmore Shadows has really front office people. If you need something. They are on it. The girls always seemed to have a smile on their faces. This is a good thing when you have weary, tired travelers.

Room Tip: Book early!!! The good cabins (location in the park, etc) get taken early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort and that our staff was helpful. We're lucky you and your family were here to help us launch our new mini golf course which just opened July 3!
We always appreciate feedback- as a matter of fact, the addition of the mini golf course is the result of previous guest comment cards.
Your flooring suggestion is an excellent one and I will share the idea with our maintenance and housekeeping crews when we budget for the coming year.
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your vacation with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We haven't even gotten there yet and are already disappointed. I booked a reservation 3 and 1/2 months ago and just got a call 5 days before we were to leave stating they may have to move us to a non-hook up, "off-site" location for the night of the 4th since they overbooked! They basically said, they messed up, but since we were not "members" ( at $8,000 a pop) we would have to give up our spot so if a member shows up they can give it to them??!! Excuse me??!! I will NEVER book a reservation again at a "Membership Resort" that allows non members to book trips as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We would like to again apologize for our oversight which created the possibility that you may have been on a non hookup site for one night during your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort. While the issue was only a possibility, we did feel an obligation to inform you of our error prior to your arrival.
We hope our error does not dissuade you from visiting the beautiful Black Hills for your vacation at any time now or in the future.
Gina Rose, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#3 of 19 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canyon Lake Resort
Canyon Lake Resort
#6 of 19 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rapid City RV Park & Campground
0.0 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Shadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Shadows Resort

Property: Rushmore Shadows Resort
Address: Rapid City, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Rushmore Shadows Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing