We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Attraction”
Review of Reptile Gardens

Reptile Gardens
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-renowned adventure park, Reptile Gardens is a must-see family attraction no matter what your age. We maintain the finest collection of tropical plants, colorful flowers, and exotic reptiles anywhere - we have more species and subspecies of venomous reptiles than any other zoo or park in the world!
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Attraction”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise, really well done and we heard it was listed in the guiness book of records. It's very cool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiaKruzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    442
    104
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can take hours to absorb which is great!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family of 6, all kids under 10, loved this place! The price is modest, but this exhibit/attraction can last for hours--plus, you just ask any gift shop attendant for the 'vacation pass' (so you can return any time during your vacation and enter for free!) and it's more than worth it. The have 3 main shows--alligators, snakes, and birds. The kids can assist during the bird show, they can pet a small baby alligator, but I think that's it for those shows. There isn't much of a break between the 3 shows so you might want to leave a minute or two early to get a good seat for the next show--the snake show has the least amount of seating but the kids can always sit up close (for all three shows). The kids really enjoyed the tortoise and turtle exhibit there too. And the playground. Of course, there is food, but only one takes debit/credit cards (I think they have an ATM on site) the other is just cash only. Bathrooms are centrally located so that helped too. Overall, it's a nice facility and we spent hours just roaming around looking at the different exhibits--and we still didn't get to all of them. I was here as a kid and loved it then too. There are free strollers too--they work rather well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDetail123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Educational and interesting. Knowledgeable staff. Went to all 3 stage shows-snake, bird, and alligator. All were great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gwonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine Mtn, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We liked this place because it was easy to get around for the wheelchair. However there is a section on the lower floor of a building which had a dreadful smell. I must admit it was a smell of dirty drains and I couldn't wait to get out of there. However the rest of the place was really good. I loved the area where you walk around on paths through tropical gardens which is in a large conservatorium. In here are tropical birds, reptiles of all kinds in their hundreds and they are all roaming free. It was like being on a treasure hunt trying to find as many lizards and snakes as you could. Wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Staff super friendly, animals are great. Animal shows are very exciting. We went back 3 days in a row, couldn't get enough. Only wish we had something like this at home!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reptile Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Reptile Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing