We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. The staff was very nice and the hotel is clean and welcoming. The rooms have ample space for 4 people and all their stuff. The only negative was the beds -- hard! The mattresses have a dial to adjust them but it didn't seem to change anything.
The location is good -- close to restaurants and a mall. Overall, very good.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank PMath5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a great location to do day trips to all major attractions. We even went to Devils Tower in Wyoming for a nice day trip. The hotel staff were friendly and well trained. Rooms, lobby, restaurant, bar area was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Pool area very nice as well. Would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Nan328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Garden I, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn in Rapid City. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on your kind words about breakfast to our Food and Beverage department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This Garden Inn hotel was above expectations.

Check in was quick and friendly.

The room was large, although I had the smallest type.

Everything was almost new and in perfect order.

There was a microwave oven and a refrigerator.
One can find drinks, ice creams and freezed dishes at the Pantry near reception, but there also is a good restaurant.
The room service menu was quite varied and the food was pretty good.

The breakfast buffet was also rich of the expected cold items: packaged yoghurts, pastries, fruits, juices.

The TV was a good sized 37".

Unfortunately there was no safe.

Parking was plentiful and free.

The free wifi was fast.

Although I had a room on the front, I was not disturbed by traffic: insulation is good enough and there is no traffic at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Garden I, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for the review and pointing out the details of the room that made your stay an enjoyable one. We strive to make sure our property is keep up to the highest standards.
Monte H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Expected Hilton in USA to be same level of quality as in Australia. Not the case. Service was good but room looked out on airconditioning unit with maintenance man walking around with no warning. Aircon was noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Garden I, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for you time on submitting a review. Your comments are very helpful in our training and we apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused. Once again. Thank you for choosing Hilton brands though out the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights on arrival in South Dakota, and one prior to leaving. It does exactly what you would expect with regard to rooms, location parking and food. Highlight was talking to (and being served by) the friendly bar staff: Brenda, John and another lady whose name I've forgotten (sorry!)

Room Tip: Not really somewhere you would stay for the view, but if you do want one it has to be a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TartanArmyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Garden I, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you taking time out of a busy schedule to submit a review. I will surely pass on the compliments to the staff you had mentioned. One thing we can control is how we treat our customers and anytime a customer mentions specific names, we recognize those employees for provinding excellent customer service. Thanks again
Monte H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is nice and feels new. The staff was helpful with dinning recommendations and requests. They had a nice breakfast in the morning and accomidated us right away. Great hotel to stay at before we went to Mount Rushmore. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I didn't expect Rapid City to have great hotels but I was happy with this choice. It was clean and the staff were very helpful. We didn't eat there, either breakfast or dinner. It isn't in the middle of Rapid City, sitting on the outskirts but just off the main highway away from RC. Being just outside it has some open ground around it which was nice and plenty of parking. We arrived early evening and asked where to eat. The recommendation was spot on and I have done a review of both places we ate in during our stay, both of which I would recommend. A good place to stay for a couple of nights, nothing special but certainly a decent place. You need a car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.4 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City

Address: 815 E Mall Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7871
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £61 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City hotel in South Dakota is conveniently located just off of I-90, at either exit 60 to mall drive and then west .5 miles of exit 59 to mall drive and then east .1 mile. We are centered in the middle of famous shopping, convenient location and within minutes to many Black Hill attractions such as Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing