We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Welcoming”
Review of Lazy "U" Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy "U" Motel
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice clean motel where you felt they genuinely cared about making your stay pleasant. Rates are reasonable and within 16 minutes to the airport. We stayed in a room under a second floor so you can hear MINOR foot traffic. If this is a concern just ask for a room in the one story portion but I would not hesitate in staying in that room again - it was very minor, ended very early, and no where near as bothersome as you may find in some higher end hotels. Motel is on a busy road but the room was very quite in fact our room was next to the office and I cannot recall hearing any foot traffic or talking. Nice family restaurant next door. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great little hotel, with easy access to Mt. Rushmore area attractions, as well as the interstate to take you to further off locations.

Motel was quiet and clean, with a comfortable bed and a great shower. Wi-fi worked fine. Owners were friendly and helpful about the general area. We didn't spend too much time here, but we would definitely stay again if we ever come back to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We are actually staying here as I write this review. Older place but very clean with very accommodating owners. We are here at a very busy time of year and they did their best to keep us in the same room for our 3 day stay. We have a trailer with ATV's which we wanted to leave at the motel and they were very accommodating. Our room has been newly carpeted with new bedding and flat screen TV. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sc1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

The local couple that restored thus classic 50's motel did a quality job of it. I spend a lot of nights in 3 and 4 stars on business and the room we had was cleaner. There was no odor of cleaning products either, which is a big plus in my book. Plus the window opens so you can turn on the amazing vent fan in the bathroom and pull sone if that amazing Black Hills fresh air through the room if you want to. Our room had a mini-fridge which was about twice the size you usually find. Each room has a parking space marked with your room number. The parking spaces are wide enough to park a row of full sized vehicles and not worry about a door ding. Flat screen TV and free wi-if. Coffee, tea, and donuts in the office in the morning. Really enjoyed our 6 day stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A great place to stay...always clean, always friendly owners ( on property) an affordable nights rest!
We stay every time we go to the beautiful BLACK HILLS of SD! FYI they do not have a pool...but the water Parks is just up the road :)ENJOY!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We criss-cross the country multiple times each year, mostly by car, once by bike (never again). Always on the lookout for a great "mom 'n pop" lodging, we found the Lazy "U" Motel meets our personal agenda. Operated by a charming and patient couple, this place has most of what we look for: first floor rooms (this one is single story only), CLEAN, no perfume odor masking previous smoking occupants, CLEAN, a guest-welcoming atmosphere, CLEAN, safe enough that we allowed our 6-year old granddaughter to mingle with the guests and reasonable bed comfort. Easy access to services, including a grocery across the road. Cindy gave our GD a small souvenir carving of Mt. Rushmore and her husband provided time saving advice on what to see...and what to skip. I am also now addicted to their morning doughnuts. Thanks, Lazy "U"!

Room Tip: We were nearer a side road, no noise problem. There's a business in the front of the motel parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ontwowheelsfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lazy U is very clean and our 2 day stay was great. Owners Cindy and Verlin have done a great job remodeling and updating the rooms. The bed was comfortable and we heard no noise from neighboring rooms or traffic. Great location on Mt. Rushmore Road to get to major attractions. All the staff was very helpful in recommending what to see in the area. We prefer staying at local hotels rather than the chains and we were not disappointed in the Lazy U.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leathap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 49 in Rapid City
1,584 reviews
3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 49 in Rapid City
103 reviews
3 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#30 of 49 in Rapid City
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5311
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy U Motel is one of the last Mom and Pop motels, family owned and operated. We have 25 rooms we keep in immaculate condition. Each room has a frig and microwave, cable tv, tub and shower. The doors are metal and secure. No pool, so enjoy a quiet one-level motel with parking in front of your room. Free WiFi, no charge on local calls, guest laundry and in walking distance to several restaurants. MC/Dis/Visa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing