We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner of Best Night's Sleep in a LONG Time Award!!”
Review of Lazy "U" Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy "U" Motel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So a took a roadtrip this past weekend, and as I got ready to leave my mom asked where I was staying that night. Um, MOTHER?!? I NEVER KNOW WHERE I'M STAYING!! I am such a commitment-phobe that HOTEL reservations make me nervous!! What if I want to keep driving?? "Where am I staying?" (snort) So, I'm driving around downtown Rapid City. It's been a LONG day and I'm getting tired. I've got two requirements for a hotel - independent, non-chain, AND - if at ALL POSSIBLE - a real key. omG I hate key cards. But I digress. I don't know Rapid City at all, and I'm a little anxious because the only hotels I've seen so far have been Ramadas and Days Inns and the like, and then I found 'the strip'. You know the one I'm talking about - a little older section, and there were the independents. The Lazy "U" just happened to be the first one, and like I said - I was TIRED, so I pulled in. It should be called Lucky "U" instead of Lazy "U"!! This was the nicest hotel experience I've had in ages. Verlyn was SO nice and helpful with his recommendations and directions. My room was IMMACULATE. I've got some Bed Bug B Gone spray that I usually use no matter what, and I didn't even feel the need to unpack it in this room. Comfortable bed, color coded towels (white for bodies, colored for makeup removal). I look forward for an excuse to go back and stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you Bridget for awarding us with the Best Night's Sleep in a LONG Time Award. We are honored to accept the award on behalf of our house keepers, who dust every top and vacuum every corner :) Seriously, we try to keep the rooms the way we would want a room if we were on the road. I will let Verlyn know you appreciated his knowledge of the Hills. We were happy to hear you liked the color coding on the towels and hope you get a chance to stay with again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Lazy "U" Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stumbled across this motel when I missed the driveway of another motel I was heading to. Surprised at the excellent quality of the room/beds/cleanliness/wifi speed/water pressure etc.
I
I would recommend this to anybody that wants a great room at a fair price.

Room Tip: they accept pets for a small fee
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

David, Thanks for the thoughtful review. It is always nice to hear what is important to our guests. You mentioned the same things we like when we are traveling. Hope you get to stay with again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Family-owned is always my first choice for hotels, restaurants, whatever. You can't beat the personal service and dedication of people who are personally vested in the success of their business.

If you're looking for a modest but extremely clean and well-maintained place to lay your head, this is it. I've stayed in dozens of hotels and motels, some pretty dive-y, some supposedly upscale. Of all of them, this is among my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hywidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The staff was amazingly helpful! The rooms were clean and pretty.
Can not say how much the staff helped with directions and advice as to the best places to see and eat. They were wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiddn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This little motel was great! The owners were exremly helpful wih directions. Rooms were clean with plenty of HOT water for showers. Great locaion in downtown Rapid City, will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glas1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family stayed here 2 years ago, so this was a return visit for us. This time, our group had 6 people, all adults. We had a room with 3 queens, which, with the senior rate, was only 89. plus tax. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom very clean, the bedspreads nice, and the tv/fridge worked fine. The room was quiet even though the motel is located on busy Mt. Rushmore Road. As I reviewed previously, the location is great--near many restaurants and close to downtown, but yet on the convenient road to Keystone. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 110kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

As I'm writing this review we are staying at the motel. Just checked in for the 2nd night so that we could go to the Central States Fair. My sister and I stayed in the motel at the end of May and I liked it so much that I decided to stay here again. When my sister and I stayed in May she, as a prior maid in a motel, looked for those little things. Couldn't find anything wrong at all. Now my daughter and I are staying here and we really like staying here. Very quiet. Love the pillow top mattresses and the new attractive carpeting. What we really noticed are that the shower head is up far enough that you don't have to scrunch down to get the top of your head wet which is a pet peeve of mine. Loved the Wi-fi and the flat screen TV. Price is great as well. I would recommend this motel to anyone traveling in this area. Loved visiting with the owners. They are great down to earth ppl who care about you.

Room Tip: Stayed in back rooms. Easy in and easy out. I like that each parking spot is marked for your room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#27 of 48 in Rapid City
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#33 of 48 in Rapid City
350 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy U Motel is one of the last Mom and Pop motels, family owned and operated. We have 25 rooms we keep in immaculate condition. Each room has a frig and microwave, cable tv, tub and shower. The doors are metal and secure. No pool, so enjoy a quiet one-level motel with parking in front of your room. Free WiFi, no charge on local calls, guest laundry and in walking distance to several restaurants. MC/Dis/Visa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing