We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip down memory lane.”
Review of Lazy "U" Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy "U" Motel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Lazy U is like the top quality motels of the late 1950s & the 60s. It is very clean, comfy, and well maintained. The old motels had kitchenettes, this is close with a table, chairs, frig & microwave. The lawn chairs outside each room are nice for evening and morning fresh air. There is a nice historic neighborhood nearby for a good walk. It is also a very convenient location, if you have appointments at the Black Hills Eye Institute or the hospital. We had need of a bathroom repair on one of your visits. The owner had it completed within 1 hour. The owners are very friendly and take time to give directions to help you navigate Rapid City. And as others have said, the fresh donuts are great. Coffee & hot tea varieties are good too. There are several restaurants within walking distance and to add to your calorie intake there is a Sonic Drive-in across the street with delicious milkshakes. BJH

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the section built in 1957.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

It's nice to be married to a handy man :) Verlyn has always been very conscientious about his tending of the rooms. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Lazy "U" Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here on our cross country trip. This is an old-fashioned, family-run one-story motel. We parked directly in front of our room. The room was small and clean; there was a desk and a fridge. The bathroom was perfectly fine and the shower great. In the morning there were donuts and coffee in the reception area. Free WiFi.

The best part of our stay was meeting the owners, Verlyn and Cindy. The kind of people you immediately like and wish you could talk to longer. They both are kind, smart, funny and caring. We loved staying here and can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

It was great having you at the Lazy U. Thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an older family run motel which I tried based on reviews on here and I was happy with my choice. Although the front of the motel (the office) is on a main road, the rest of the motel is set back and behind other buildings facing the road, so noise is NOT a problem. The room was clean and updated, the bed was comfortable and the wifi was very fast and strong...which is a nice change from alot of places where I stay. Starbucks is 2 blocks away, Safeway is across the street, and there are a ton of restaurants walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohansenRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for the review and for noticing our wifi. We updated it again last Fall, just before the blizzard we had :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We simply needed somewhere to sleep at a reasonable price, but it had to be CLEAN! We found it here!
If you are looking for modern furnishings, swimming pool, multiple device outlets, coffee pot in the room, fitness center.... This is NOT for you! The furnishings are dated, rooms fairly small. But, the beds are queen sized and very comfortable, pillows too. The shower head has good pressure and lots of hot water, bath towels are thick and soft, there is a good sized flat screen TV. The hosts have coffee and fresh donuts at the desk each morning and guest laundry is available. And, most important to me is it was very clean! You won't find dust bunnies behind the doors or under furniture. Even the corners in the small bathroom were scrubbed clean with no sign of mold or dirt anywhere. I was told by the owner that he or his wife personally inspect every room! How often does that kind of personal touch happen anymore? Also, you park outside of your room, and there are plastic patio chairs just outside your door if you desire to sit outside a bit. So, in conclusion don't expect fancy. Expect dated, adequate,and clean with a personal touch.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank ssjcjzfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I could not have said it better. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here and are so glad we did. The room was large and had a good size bar fridge. The owners were friendly and very customer oriented. The donuts were amazing! Some other reviews mentioned the small bathroom however this wasn't an issue for us. If it is an issue due to vanity space, there was a desk in our room with a huge mirror beside it and we utilized this as our "make up" station. Would definitely recommend this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Some of our rooms were built in 1957. The rooms are more spacious, with tall ceilings, but some of the bathrooms have the sink in the bathroom. We have other rooms built in 1985 that have the outside vanity. This was the room you stayed in. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and we were extremely pleased with our experience. The rooms were clean and well maintained. This is a family owned hotel and the owners are the nicest people and you can tell by the pride they take in their little motel. The coffee was fresh and delicious in the morning and the doughnuts where my daughter's favorite part. They also spent time talking to us about the area and the best places to visit. Job well done. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thanks for your kind words. We do take pride in our little place. We don't have a great view, but know the rooms are the cleanest they can be because every one of them are inspected by Verlyn, Jackie, Sharon or myself before your stay. Look for ward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

If you want a clean room on your visit to the Black Hills of SD - this is your stop! The owners of the Lazy U will have the coffee on and will be happy help guide you to all their favorites spots to visit in western SD. Easy to find just keep your eyes open to a very cool 1954 pickup in the driveway!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks for the ind words and for taking the shot with me and the ole truck :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#27 of 48 in Rapid City
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#34 of 48 in Rapid City
350 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy U Motel is one of the last Mom and Pop motels, family owned and operated. We have 25 rooms we keep in immaculate condition. Each room has a frig and microwave, cable tv, tub and shower. The doors are metal and secure. No pool, so enjoy a quiet one-level motel with parking in front of your room. Free WiFi, no charge on local calls, guest laundry and in walking distance to several restaurants. MC/Dis/Visa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing