We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for family vacation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice place for family vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I like the fresh baked cookies. It is not overpriced considering it was the prime season for tourist. The staff was very friendly. The indoor water slide was thrilling. Conviently located in the Bl ack hills. Close to shopping mall, and scenic vistas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon if you return to the Black Hills area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    252
    117
    59
    51
See reviews for
395
245
52
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Durant
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice, with a hot tub and pool with a water slide. Great for families. Located close to restaurants. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon if you return to the Black Hills area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed her durign the rally and had stayed here before and got some time this trip to actually use the waterslide in the pool. Lots of fun for adults and kids and just a great staff and experience here. Breakfast hours are busy but they have good quality and move peopel through by refilling the food items as quickly as they get low. Nice bike washign station out back and they even provide used towels for you to clean with.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopekaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon if you return to the Black Hills area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here on our way back from visiting Jackson Hole, Yellowstone & Devils Tower. This was the nicest hotel of our week long trip. The staff was very nice and checked us in quickly. They are in the process of updating the room keys and have 2 different styles, but this was explained [and if you can't figure either one out, you're an idiot]. The room was SPOTLESS! The bathroom was gleaming white and the beds were made perfectly- comfortable too. Room had a mini-fridge and microwave, nice tv & cold a/c. The pool area has 2 hot tubs and a pool with a water slide. Breakfast was a standard continental that was ok, but the TGIF next door offers a 15% discount when you show your room key. There's no way this place has "gone downhill"- maybe they accidentally put you in a room that wasn't ready or something...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon if you return to the Black Hills area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My parents were driving across country. They had been driving for over 10 hours and came upon this hotel over Labor Day weekend. The manager charged them $599 for a room that they normally charge $150. 4 times the normal rate! Outrageous! Granted, it was a holiday weekend, and my parents were willing to pay a premium. But $599?!?!? And they refused to budge on the price. It's not the Four Seasons. The room was dirty, the shower did not work, and the staff was rude. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We appreciate your parents recent stay with us at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson. We pride ourselves on providing outstanding customer service and accommodations. I am very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during this past Labor Day Weekend. Given our location in one of the busiest tourism areas of the country, we base our rates solely on the availability within the city, as do the majority of hotels within Rapid City. Pricing for Saturday, September 1st, was based on the average room rate available across the hotels located in The Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Really loved our room, it was nice and extremely clean. The breakfast was great, we came in pretty late and there was plenty of stuff left! Got a big Belgium waffle and sausage, it was nice to have a hot breakfast.

Only reason it didn't get 5 stars from me was the pool: they are upgrading so I don't really have a leg to stand on, but, the umbrellas were crazy dusty, the water was a tad dirty and the water slide was off when we went in :( but what can you do! We came there to stay not to swim!

I'd recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaityfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review our property. We are always excited to her that our guests enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I had a two night stay. The first was fine; I even was pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was though not impressed by the breakfast selections. However, the second night, I stayed up to read. My attention was pulled from my book by a subtle movement on the bed ... yes, a bed bug crawling across the sheet. I started looking more and saw 5 of them (including one in the bathroom) before I freaked and hauled all of my stuff out of the room and cut the rest of my vacation short. When I told the night staff why I was checking out at 1 am, she didn't seem surprised or offer any sort of compensation. I am now spending the entire rest of my vacation decontaminating my car and everything I brought home instead of a few extra days enjoying the Black Hills region.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our facility and bringing these issues to our attention. We apologize that your experience at the Country Inn –Rapid City did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and I assure you we have addressed the problem that you experienced. The room has been treated by a professional company that is certified in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Address: 2321 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing